Black and white

BurdaStyle 4/2011/123

I do so love my new skirt.  Swirly, swishy, floral delighfulness that took me ages to finish for all sorts of reasons.  Never mind, it is done now and it makes me happy.

Perhaps next time I will make a longer version, though this is so much more versatile.  Hems swirling around ankles feels so fabulous, don’t you think?

P1050692

I used BurdaStyle 04/2011 #123 but made it a little shorter, without pockets and replaced the waistband with a waist facing.  Fantastically I am a tall size 76 so no width alterations were needed though I’m not tall enough for BurdasStyle so lopped off a good 3″ or so at the hem.  This skirt is supposed to be looong.

One of my lovely books walked me through constructing the waist facing and lining and while tidy, mostly, I got my panels and ‘which-way-rounds’ utterly confused so the vertical seams don’t match at all.  See.

IMG_3621

Oh well, who’ll know but you and me, and I don’t really care too much.

The fabric is white mesh’ish cotton gorgeousness with white embroidered appliqued flowers as well as the printed black floral design.  It really is fairly transparent in places …

IMG_3620

The lining I chose is a slightly heavier drapier cotton – a happy choice because there is no chance of the lining pulling to the outside at the waistline, and it lends a little more resistance to wind, sparing my dignity and enabling swirling when required.  Happy days.

P1050689

The top I made a while back and blogged about here … I wear it a lot and it is still going strong.  Wonderful New Zealand merino/nylon mix.

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Black and white

  1. This outfit is just perfect! Gorgeous!

  2. Andrea says:

    Such a pretty skirt, it is a great length. Like Rhonda, I am admiring your shoes, perfect for the outfit!

  3. sewbussted says:

    So pretty, and the red Barbie doll shoes are the perfect accessory 🙂

    • Hey Rhonda – thank you! I love those shoes and you’re right they really are Barbie doll shoes!! I’ve had them for years though sadly they’re finally on their way out :(. Oh well.

I love comments...

