Bees

 

IMG_3148Do you like the bees?  They were all over the flowers on a beautiful stand of flax bushes outside some local shops and I just had to take a picture.  Besides, the bees are much more interesting than the thing I finished sewing last night.

Hmph.  Right, so I’ve had this amazing light modal/cotton single knit in my collection for a month or so and had cut out a simple Ottobre T for me.  I’ve never sewed any light as air knits before but how hard could it be?

 

As it turns out, harder than expected and I didn’t think it through so the shirt is awful.  Puckering seams, pulling everywhere, unsalvageable kind of awful.  I threw it away in disgust.

Perhaps four thread serged seams weren’t a good idea after all.

This entry was posted in fabric, Serger, Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bees

  1. symondezyn says:

    I ❤ bees, especially the fuzzy bumble kind ^_^

    So sorry to hear about your knit nightmare – those tissue weight knits can be a giant pain in the A, especially when they have a great deal of stretch. Ugh – here's hoping you get a nice palate cleansing project next ^_^

    • Thanks m’dear …. I do love the way they feel and drape so I won’t give up. My palate cleanser is a wee top for the kids and then I’ve a coupla skirts for moi! Yay! Meanwhile, the bees (fluffy and regular) are loving all the flowers in the garden. I love spring

  2. Ugh! I’ve bought some similar weight fabric and was irritated with it as well. Even if you get it sewn up, by the second wash it’ll have holes in it. Or at least that was my experience anyway. So really, it’s better this way. Your bees are pretty and those flowers are really cool!

  3. sewbussted says:

    Oh, don’t give up. It really could have been the fabric. Just remember the bees, if they don’t get what they want from one flower, they just simply move on to the next 🙂

    • I know, you’re right I shouldn’t give up, though I have for now on that particular piece. Before embarking on another light light knit garment, I shall pull out my books and have a blat around blogland to see what I can do differently….. I shall make like a bee and move on to the next, as you say. Thank you Rhonda 🙂

I love comments...

