Winter hiatus

As I type, Spring’s October winds are blasting the garden making the house creak and the startling the kids.  It is blowing cobwebs away.  Finally.

For many reasons, autumn and winter required my focus elsewhere so very little stitching was done.  The few items I did manage for friends and family over the months were, sadly, sent away without pictures.  But now the seasonal winds are working wonders in my corner room and I hope you will forgive my absence.

One important late summer job I completed before getting hopelessly side-tracked was the rearrangement of my fabric and odds ‘n ends.  All of which are (mostly) out of their corners, boxes and cupboards and piled lovingly onto a shiny new shelf.

Oh the wonder of visibility and accessibility!  I pull out pieces to feel and drape, check lengths and get inspired.  Plus I found stuff I didn’t know I had.  Better and better.

IMG_1280This lovely and very full shelf unit was supposed to house my fabric, sewing magazines and books plus the bulk of my cook book and food magazine collection ……

Indeed!  Oops.

This entry was posted in fabric, not sewing, Sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Winter hiatus

  1. Curious how fabric expands and spreads isn’t it? 😉

  2. CGCouture says:

    Glad to have you back! I love the shelf, isn’t it so nice for keeping your fabric organized and visible so that you’ll use it? 🙂 Can’t wait to see what cute summer stuff you stitch up!

  3. Holly says:

    I love how organised your stash is. You can see and stroke everything, but it’s so tidy.

    • Hey Holly – thanks and it won’t be that tidy for long cos I’m going to have time to sew when schools back. I get messy when I’m in sewing mode then tidy between projects, usually anyway. And you can’t see the piles of stuff that are next to the shelf, on my sewing tables etc lol! Oh and I do stroke them threads. A lot! 😉

  4. amaryllislog says:

    Emily you have been missed. Glad all is fine in your world and organized! Very impressive too might I say. Looking forward to seeing what you are up to and a big welcome back!

    • Oh Cathe thank you! All is very fine with us and our mermaids and I am so enjoying getting back to it. Unfortunately (!) my next sewing job is PJs for JJ but that’s OK because it gets the kinks worked out before tackling something for ME.

  5. sewbussted says:

    I believe that in order to be truly creative, you need to have pieces to choose from. You can always find another shelf for the cookbooks 😉

  6. SewingElle says:

    Lovely to see a post from you again. Aren’t fabric stashes great?!

  7. Anne W says:

    Lol, that’s a fabulous fabric collection, definitely need another shelf for the food books & magazines! I’m glad you’ve blown away your winter sewing cobwebs, welcome to summer. 🙂

I love comments...

