Late Summer Linen

P1050344I have been slowly trouser-ing it up in the sewing room and finished this pair of slouchy, light weight linen pants last night.  The fit is good enough and I took these pictures this afternoon after wearing them most of the day.

P1050334Yes there are drag lines but there isn’t significant stretched bagginess in the butt and frankly that was the aim.  I’ll spend time on the next iteration sorting out the back legs but for now I am very happy.

What did I do?  First have a look at the last pair of linen pants I made:

Saggy baggy butt of doom from 2012 – click on the picture to go to the original post.

When I went back to this picture, I noticed the pants stretched from just below the waist band down to a little below the crotch point.  Essentially everywhere in the back.  So, I needed to work on the side seams, centre back seam and upper back inseam too.

And that’s precisely what I did this time around, a little bit at a time.  I took some width/length off then tested each step by wearing them for an evening or so.  It took a while but it was worth it I think.

I did start by steam ironing and stretching the back crotch point, removing an inch in both length and width on each side of the point.  I wouldn’t do this next time, to tell you the truth.  I’ll simply do a test square and see how much I can iron stretch it then will remove that amount from the pattern piece.

P1050342Time will tell whether my new trousers will need to be washed after each wear….

BTW I used New Look 6382 from waist to hips cos I was lazy and then widened the legs.  I fiddled about with crotch fit first before snugging it up.  The waist I finished with 1″ wide petersham rather than a facing, which I think is neater and simpler.

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Late Summer Linen

  1. symondezyn says:

    THESE ARE FANTASTIC!!!!!! I bow to your mad trouser skillz – please, O Wise One – teach me your ways!! For I too, desire linen pants that lovingly caress my rear and don’t give me the baggy bum of doom!! 🙂

  2. Pingback: White | Calico Stretch

  3. Classic, classy and elegant! Lovely!

  4. They are just fabulous! Gorgeous.

  5. I think they look great, comfy but classic xx

  6. CGCouture says:

    Well, I’m bummed that the tip was more of a hassle than anything, but I guess you live and learn, right? As others have said, they look very comfy, and they fit nicely, so what’s not to love? 🙂

  7. These linen pants are very classic – and they look exceedingly comfortable, too!

  8. amaryllislog says:

    These trousers look great! I think the steam stretch might be an excellent idea! I noticed you appear to be in a super women sewist pose-hands on hips, super determined look on face…nothing can stop me!

    • Hahaha I didn’t think about the super sewist pose – perfect right? I’ve got these darn things working so watch out all you evil sewing gremlins!!! Do you think there’s a movie in that?? A mini series at least. 😉

      The steam stretch thingy is a good idea in that it made me think about the pattern piece and how the shape stretches out when worn. Just steam stretching wouldn’t be enough on its own I don’t think and I’d worry that I’d stretch each of the back pieces unevenly as you can’t do them both at the same time. But is made me look at the old picture of saggy butt doom with different goggles on, which was a great help. I think!

  9. sewbussted says:

    Great job! Your pants are beautiful.

  10. Anne W says:

    They look great after a whole day of wear – well done!!

  11. Becky says:

    I think these look terrific for linen pants! They are supposed to be a bit loose, and if they aren’t loose, they look like scrunched up bed linen! I would love a pair that fit this well.

I love comments...

