Roses and White Linen

Last week I whizzed up a few pairs of leggings for the kids.  They were very plain and very practical and by the third pair I was bored.  So, as the sewing machine was back I thought I’d try a little something to pretty them up.

P1050210 I have been meaning to try flower embellishments like this for ages but kept forgetting, then Rhonda blogged a beautiful version recently and finally the grey matter obliged.  Cute, no?

I have been informed that I will be making more rose leggings again soon.  In purple, apparently.

Onto another pair of trousers, though sadly without roses.  Have a look at this:

P1050219

This is one of the back pieces of a pair of white linen pants I will start sewing up tomorrow.  Note – the newsprint paper pattern piece is on top of the fabric piece.  I love linen trousers but the first and only pair I made bagged out terribly after the first wear and then my skinnies did the same thing.

Well Jo and CG both sent me a very interesting way to potentially rectify the problem.  That is to stretch out the area on the back pieces with a very steamy iron, then trim off the excess and sew up as normal.  You can see how much extra room this generated.

Interesting hey?  I will be underlining and/or lining the pants too and will let you know whether the butt held it together or not.

This entry was posted in fabric, Serger, sewing machine and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Roses and White Linen

  1. Pingback: Late Summer Linen | Calico Stretch

  2. symondezyn says:

    Wow… what an interesting technique!! I can see this being particularly helpful for linen, which (as you know of course!) tends to go rather shapeless after wearing… I’ll be very interested to see how much of a difference this makes – it would seem such a tiny amount wouldn’t, but we who sew know that a tiny amount MATTERS! lol 🙂

    • It is hey and I’m going to let you know what happens. I think I’m going to shave a little more off the pattern piece than it stretched out though because I basted the trousers together expecting at least a little tightness in the back but they’re fine. Hmmm.

      • symondezyn says:

        I’m really grateful to be learning along with you – I may actually have the confidence to attempt a pair of linen trousers this spring because of you! ^__^

      • Go girl! and me too by the way. I’ve nearly finished …. just the lining to fix then its wear time to see if expansion happens !!

  3. Love the rosebuds! The newest issue of Threads Magazine has a feature on rosebud embellishments, so you may want to check it out – although it looks like you are doing quite well on your own!

    • Thanks Karen – lovely how such a simple thing can jazz things up for the kids and me. Now I need to check out that Threads magazine, when it makes it to our shores, because I have a bunch of winter merinos to make up for us that get ever so boring 🙂

  4. CGCouture says:

    Ooh I hope that tip helps! Love the little rose detail on your leggings, very sweet! 🙂

  5. Gjeometry says:

    Cute, I like the embellishments you added! I just made ‘skinny’ pants in a stretch cotton twill and I worry that they are also going to ‘bag’ out since they have quite a bit of stretch. So far, so good, but I’ve only worn them for the blog photoshoot, lol. I did not do that stretching out and steaming first. That’s good to know, but probably not for stretch fabrics.

    • Thanks! I think you’re right about stretch fabrics as the lycra won’t stand up to the heat. But then again a little lightbulb has finally gone on in my head about how to handle bagging on my skinnies …. I’ll just have to try it out first.

      I love your jungle skinnies. They look fab and I’m interested in the idea of a second back dart…. I might ‘invest’ in such a solution if I need to for mine too, depending on the amount of give the fabric.

  6. SewingElle says:

    So, so very interested to find out how you go with the-stretching-before-sewing trick. Love the roses too

  7. amaryllislog says:

    Wow, brilliant tip! Super cute leggings too, WITH roses!

  8. Sewbussted says:

    What a sweet little touch to the leggings and I’m so happy that I was able to give a bit of inspiration.
    I am looking forward to hearing how this process works out with the linen pants. Good thoughts coming your way 🙂

    • Hi Rhonda – one day I will have a go at sleeves too :-). The linen pre-stretch technique is going to be very interesting, though given past failures to tame the stretch, I am only hoping a little!

I love comments...

