Orange

P1050199The Orange is finished, teamed up with a little more Purple and a smattering of light Pink.  Orange is a colour I am pretty sure I have never worn before.  How can this be?

The pattern is McCalls 5856, size 12 with no fitting alterations at all and made up in cotton voile.  I used the same purple bias strips to finish the waistline and extended the ends to add a splash more colour at the side for ‘ties’.  Everything is french seamed so the inside is almost as pretty as the outside – I’m starting to love this element of garment sewing.

P1050201

I have an RTW skirt very like this (though not orange) with a 1″ grograin strip finishing the lining hem and I love the way it brings the lining out from hiding.  The ribbon also adds nice weight and a touch of stiffness to the swirl of the skirt, so I had intended to do the same with this version.  Unfortunately I couldn’t find the right colour ribbon so substituted the bias tape.  Successfully I think.

I will make this again soon in my lovely silk cotton as I have everything ready and waiting.  There is one other item in my sewing cue to be finished first however.

Oh, and before I forget, have a look at these.

P1050159

Clockwise from top left – BurdaStyle special autumn/winter No. 5/2013; BurdaStyle 09/2013; Simplicity 6622 dolls pattern; Vogue 9771 size 12-16 some pieces cut in size 16; Vogue 2393 18-22 cut in size 22; Vogue 1166 size 12-16 uncut.

Would you like any of them?

I sorted through some of the piles on my sewing tables and these need a new home.  I am happy to post to wherever in the world the post will deliver, so leave me a comment stating your preference(s) and email address before midnight NZ time on Sunday 2nd of March 2014.  I’ll draw it shortly thereafter.

This entry was posted in Patterns, Sewing, sewing machine and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Orange

  1. Pingback: Sewing! And a little bit of everything else! | Splinters & Stitches

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever worn orange either. I think it wouldn’t like my complexion but I think I could get away with wearing it on the bottom. I love your colour combination and the purple at the hem of the lining is perfect.

  3. symondezyn says:

    Look at YOU, all sassy and gorgeous in your orange skirt! Love it! I adore orange, and I think it is so perfect on you in a fun, flirty skirt – lovely job! 🙂

  4. Tia Dia says:

    I *lurv* orange. I’m wearing a bright tangerine orange turtleneck and down-filled vest today. Your skirt is perfect! Love the shape. Love the colour.

  5. vivjm says:

    Such a pretty skirt! Love the colour.

  6. Absolutely lovely! The contrast of the purple against that orange voile is such an inspired choice. This is such a perfect warm weather skirt!

  7. Great skirt – I love the colour orange (such a cheerful colour!), and the grosgrain trim on the lining is a lovely touch.

    If you don’t yet have a home for the dolls pattern, can I have it? My daughter is obsessed with dolls, and I enjoy sewing them outfits from fabric scraps.

  8. Jo says:

    You look stunning! Unique touches make it even better 🙂

  9. amaryllislog says:

    I believe you have made the perfect skirt! So glad you and orange made friends, it works nicely on you. And I agree the bias trim is a beautiful touch!

    I too love the process of finishing a garment, weirdly satisfing. Does that make us control freaks?!

  10. Sewbussted says:

    Love the entire look and the skirt is just spot on cute 🙂

  11. CGCouture says:

    Cute! Love the colors of the skirt, everyone with their orange makes makes me wish that I could wear orange. Never would have thought to make the lining peek out like that, cute idea!

    I’d be happy to rehome the Autumn/Winter burda, well, both of them actually. 🙂 I think you get my email addy with the comments, right?

    • Thanks m’dear and I have changed my mind about orange on me. That is, as long as it isn’t a block of colour near my face. About the lining peekin’ out, I wish it was my idea lol.

      Coolio about the Burda and yep I got your email with the comment. 🙂

  12. Andrea says:

    Very cute skirt! Love the colors. I do like my garment insides to look pretty as well, so satisfying, isn’t it?

  13. SewingElle says:

    I love the purple band on the lining. What a great idea!
    I could give the BurdaStyle Autumn/Winter edition magazine a good home 😉

  14. Anne W says:

    I love your orange skirt, especially with the contrast bias bound lining peaking out, great finish! And isn’t cotton voile so pretty, it floats beautifully. Patterns… I wouldn’t say no the to Vogue options with the cowl…. 😉

I love comments...

