Purple

P1050102This is my first purple garment, possibly ever, and I like it.

It is another BurdaStyle 07/2012 #117, in a cotton voile I got for $2/m a year or two ago.  I love the french seams, bias finish on the sleeves hem and neckline and lightweight summer flow of the thing.  I can see myself making another one…..

The one thing I didn’t like about this is how much I suck at making continuous bias strips.  The voile is such a lightweight fabric so I had to crack out the ruler and get on with it.

Oh dear.

A quilter I will never be.

P1050099

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Purple

  1. symondezyn says:

    Ooh colour experimentation, well done! 🙂 I really love these shots of you, and of course, the top is just lovely, as are all your makes 🙂 I’m always impressed with myself whenever I make bias tape but I do find it SOOOO tedious and hair-pulling! LOL

    • Thanks darls….. the pics particularly the looking at camera one were odd to do for some reason. My kids were watching and very curious and I got all shy! Anyway, glad they worked out.

      I now have yard and yards of purple bias …. I Will find a use for it damnit.

  2. “The year of OTHER colours” sounds like a great idea! 🙂 You look gorgeous in purple – come hang out with us soon ok? We miss you xx

  3. It’s gorgeous – think I’ll have to order that pattern. You look great 🙂

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Gorgeous! I love purple.

  5. Tia Dia says:

    It’s lovely! And it’s purple! I love purple, and I understand the tedium of bias strips. I can only encourage you by repeating the adage practice makes perfect…. well, at least better than the last time! 🙂

    • Thank you! It is purple! I have purple bias strips if you need any ;-). Phew. Practice. I know. I may do so with smaller yardage next time too …. maybe my brain will cope better. Still its always better than store bought!

  6. Sewbussted says:

    Such a light and breezy piece. It looks lovely on you. Rulers were made for people like us 😉

  7. Vicki Kate says:

    I love the colour, it looks gorgeous on you!

  8. amaryllislog says:

    It’s really a beautiful top! It looks so light and airy.

    Funny I don’t think I have ever made anything in purple either, but it’s really pretty!

    • Thanks Cathe – I will have to find me some more in this colour range I think! I do wonder why we gravitate away from colours sometimes. It can’t just be about comfort zone or simplicity. Hmmmm, but then if you look in my stash I have loads of coloured pieces of fabric too and they’re not just for the girls.

  9. CherryPix says:

    You look great in purple. A very cool looking shirt – style and temperature-wise 😉

  10. SewingElle says:

    Another great version of this pattern. What, your first purple garment? I love purple. You need more purple in your wardrobe. Looks good on you (and with the blue tones of your bricks too…nice background)

    • I do so need more purple in my wardrobe. And most other colours. This was a bit of an experiment actually to see if I could wear it. There’s only so much walking about the house draped in fabric you can do 🙂 . I think there are more in my future.

  11. Jo says:

    Omg so pretty! The colour looks great on you and even sweeter is the price of the fabric, haha! Very nice,definitely make another 😀

  12. Anne W says:

    Cute! I love it when you find a pattern that works & you make a stack of different versions!

  13. And this purple suits you very well! Nice top!

I love comments...

