Distracted – a tale of two dresses

As often happens at this time of the year I lose a month.  September.  Gone.  And in my ‘absence’ spring has sprung.

P1040849Why was it so busy?  Well, this year we had drama club rehearsals, dress rehearsals and productions, birthday parties (’tis the season it seems), the twins’ birthday and party at home, dance pre-exam and exam mania.  Top that off with the school gala and end of term punctuated here ‘n’ there by yet more birthday parties.

I am T.I.R.E.D.  Happy too but nothing requiring thought or longish periods of attention has been getting done.  Oh and I am…

never

ever    ever

… looking at fudge again.  Did I mention the school gala?

Through all of this I did manage some essential sewing – ever present mending plus birthday dresses for my girls, PJs for me and a few little bits and pieces for an brand new nephew.

Becky blue dress oct2013

For the dresses I do have a fairly good collection of pretty fabric acquired for just this sort of thing.  Also lace, sequins and buttons so what better than to rummage in the stash and make use of what I already have.

Amy pink dress oct2013

Note – evidently we are into leggings and socks with everything.  And twirling.

The pattern is Vogue 7741 (version c) – a lovely simple, classic pattern so easy to dress up or down with fabric choice and what have you.  It is very out of print but if you have little girls to sew for and happen across it I’d definitely recommend it.  I found my copy for 50c at an op shop down the road, already cut out in size 6x.

Vogue 7741

Vogue 7741

While my girls are tall for their 7 years they are not wide and Vogue added a lot of ease around the tum.   You can see the extra width in the first two sets of twirly photos above.  Fortunately the shoulder fit is good but as they were surprise birthday dresses I couldn’t do fittings until the dresses were pretty much finished.

So, I carefully removed the hand sewn sequins (which BB thought were scratchy anyway) and whacked on long sashes instead.  It all worked out fine I think and it doesn’t matter that there’s a bit of extra fabric back there.  Not for kiddos anyway.  I do miss the sequins though.

P1040841

Now, don’t for one moment think that my motives were entirely altruistic.  I have a dress on my list to make for moi and and wanted practice doing linings.  And the skirt godet insertion was good for me!

P1040834I managed the linings and one of the godets is pucker free.

P1040828

This entry was posted in Patterns, Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Distracted – a tale of two dresses

  1. Aaawh your girls in the garden look so cute in their gorgeous dresseessss 😀 they must be so lucky to have a sewing aficionado mum 😉

    • Lucky they are! And thanks Fati – they do love their dresses though next time I will add a cap sleeve as sunburnt shoulders are not so good. Summer has arrived it has it has. Well, here anyway 🙂

  2. I absolutely agree about September having simply vanished. I think i fell asleep at the end of August and forgot to wake up. I think, mind you, that I’ve missed quite a bit of October, too, as it seems to have been astoundingly busy here. Oh, well. Love those dresses and sometimes those old, old-fashioned but classic, shapes are still ideal for younger fry. And, very importantly, obviously just the thing for twirling. As, no doubt, you’ll be able to prove when you make your own twirly version.

    • I think October has gone cos suddenly its November! What is it about spring and time? Hmmm. What a lovely idea to make a twirly version for me – I had forgotten about that. Time marches on right?!

  3. What gorgeous wee dresses! Twirling is the most fun, I do lots of twirling with dancing and I can’t recommend it enough!

  4. I am glad I’m not the only one who just lost a month! I can’t believe it’s been a month since I last posted…better get some photos taken asap…so much to sew! Those dresses are very sweet – and good lining practise 😉

  5. Sandra says:

    Lovely dresses – I like the new ties, they look great. Its quite satisfying when they appreciate that you have made dresses they love.

    • Thanks Sandra – they were so appreciated the kids objected when I said the dresses needed to be washed lol! There’s only so much nutella/tomato/etc down the bodice front I can bear :).

  6. sewexhausted says:

    Pretty dresses… I loved sewing for my girls when they were younger. All the pretty dresses they had! And they actually still want me to sew for them now BUT they are more “picky” and put their “orders” in… TEENS… LOL… ~Laurie

    • It is fun sewing for little ones. I have to say one of the reasons for getting into sewing was so that when the girls are bigger they won’t be embarrassed to wear mum made creations because by then I’ll be good enough at stitching to do a reasonable job! TEENS indeed :). I did love seeing your girls on your blog too BTW. And your maxi dress ….

      • sewexhausted says:

        Thanks! And yes! That is so true about the girls. Mine now fight over who is up next and TEXT me ideas! When I first started sewing for the girls I was so bad I skipped the buttons and added velcro instead! Then I realized I better “go forth and make buttonholes!!” 😀

      • Hahahaha I would have done the velcro thing if I had thought of it too. At least you manage to sew for yourself plenty too right? PS you can switch off the phone lol.

  7. Twirl factor is imperative! Lovely work, Emily. 🙂 Can’t understand being over fudge though… 😉

    • Thanks Maryanne. I’m sure I’ll get over my fudge overdose – in fact I bought ingredients for another batch of vanilla (Russian) fudge this week, so so much for “never ever ever”.

  8. amaryllislog says:

    Adorable dresses for the mermaids, that has to be so satisfing. Plus the fact they are happy to wear a pretty classic dress!

    My September zipped away too, I’m still shocked it’s October, except it’s fall here, I love that you are going into spring, I’m jealous too!

    • I will have to take as many pics of spring and summer stuff as possible but only if you promise to do the same for fall and winter at your place. We love to see the colours from there as they are so very differently glorious from those here.

      The mermaids are so happy they want more. And I have plans for more too …. what else is one to do with fabric collected for them?

      BTW today I bought basil and tomato seedlings for the garden. I could only find one variety of sweet basil at the local place so will be on the lookout for alternatives soon. I thought of you as I bought them 🙂

  9. Simona says:

    Girls look happy! I think thats the most important. :-).

  10. Pella says:

    Super sweet dresses, great twirl factor!

  11. sewbusylizzy says:

    My girls get so excited when I make them something – so cute!

  12. Tia Dia says:

    I love the Vogue for Me patterns, and am sorry they have been discontinued. The quality of the designs is classic. These are very pretty dresses – love the spring photos!

    • There really is something about classic dresses, I do agree. I’ll be making this up again for sure.

      I wonder why the pattern line was discontinued. I didn’t find many references to this particular one when googled for reviews either. Hmmm

  13. Gjeometry says:

    Aw, these are so cute!! Love the twirl factor.

  14. Jo says:

    Such pretty dresses! I love that you used them as practice for “selfish sewing” techniques too! lol 🙂 Rest up and get that energy back. Then use it on YOU 🙂 I think you sound like you’ve earned it, phew!

    • Aint it terrible?! When they were wee they wore loads of wonky knit stuff as PJs as I was pretty kack handed with the machines back then LOL. Poor little souls :). Nowdays the experiments have to be pretty else they are rejected out of hand! Fair enough too.

      The best thing about spring school holidays is sleeping in. We are doing a lot of sleeping in and mooching about in PJs. Bliss.

  15. Sewbussted says:

    I think the girls look precious and having a dress you can twirl in makes it all the better!

I love comments...

