Fabric stretch smetch schtretch

I am feeling disheartened and more than a little annoyed with myself.

Remember this?

BurdaStyle 04/2011/104 saggy butt of doom

Well it has happened again on my skinny fit trousers.  I can’t even show you because my camera has also given up the ghost.

There are times when I realise just how much I don’t know and this is one of those times.  To make it worse, again I should have realised this would happen, at least to some degree.  I do buy jeans from time to time and they always un-snug after the first hour or so of wearing.

While I am pretty crestfallen I’m going to have to figure out how to snuglisious them up again so I can wear them.  I’ve another pair to make in proper denim so this puzzle has to be solved.

Essentially there are folds under my butt that weren’t there before and so pattern alterations are required.  But I’m not sure by how much to alter.  I’m thinking I should remove the wrinkles completely and then hope I can get the pants on again after I’ve washed them.  I’d love to hear your thoughts.

In the mean time I’m going to internet search on the problem but also distract myself for a little with one of these ….

BurdaStyle 2/2010/113
(Image source burdafashion.com)

Victory Patterns’ lovely Lola
(Image source victorypatterns.com)

BurdaStyle 10/2012 #118A
(source BurdaStyle.com)

This entry was posted in fitting, Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Fabric stretch smetch schtretch

  1. Get a flexible curve and use that on yourself then place it over the pattern. If you know other people that sew, or know someone you’re at that level of familiarity with, it might actually be worth the effort to do a drape. I.e. get some non stretch light fabric, and fold and fit to make it fit to your pants area. I’d use tape to secure everything down tight. And then cut the fabric off and use that as your base pattern. For testing sew it up with zero ease in stretch trouser/denim fabric. If that works for the hip/ass/crotch area then all you have to do is add the required ease for the legs using pre-existing pants that fit ok. Best of luck.

  2. Zoe says:

    How annoying about the pants! I’ve never made pants so I cannot offer any wisdom but i’m sure there are plenty of sewers out on the internet that have had the same problem and can help you. Oh, the burdstyle dress pattern is adorable, make it! 🙂

    • Hey Zoe – I’ve some ideas already and have started with fixing the sags. Fingers crossed hey? Anyway, the distractions are going very well and I’ve been distracted further by kid sewing. When the kid dresses are done I’ll have to decide which to do …. The BurdaStyle dress is all cut out in calico, and I’ve muslined the shirt. Lola is calling too ….. 😄

  3. symondezyn says:

    Ah what a bummer 😦 Stupid stretch fabric!! I have no clue how you would fix this, but I’m curious to see what you come up with! In the meantime, that Burdastyle dress would make a lovely distraction 🙂

  4. I hate it when that happens. And they are so lovely too. Would retro fitting some iron on knit interfacing help, I wonder?

  5. Karen says:

    I vote for the last dress – it looks like the perfect distraction from the saggy pants.

  6. Sewbussted says:

    Don’t be too upset, sometimes it’s just the fabric. A little distraction I find always helps. That Burda dress would look incredible on you.

    • I’m feeling a lot more sanguine about it today. I have learned a very good thing (again) and hopefully next time I won’t make the same mistake again. Right? I love the Burda dress too so hopefully you are right. Of course, the weather is warming up now and I bought some lovely wool for it but …. 🙂

  7. prttynpnk says:

    Ive got some growing pants too- what a pain to need a belt by midday?! Now whats the Lola plan? I’m eyeing that one too!

    • Growing pants …. wish a belt would solve my particular pair. Oh, hang on I could layer over it right? Hmmmm, probably not. I am going to sort them out later. Later.

      The Lola plan – I have some black wool ponte and some gold flecked light drapey sweatshirting that are both on my mind for this. The cotton would need some embellishment though. TJ and Sandra’s versions got me all inspired like. ! Have you plans for Lola?

  8. Janey says:

    If it helps, I have some RTW jeans that have a light cotton interfacing throughout the bum, and down to the top of the thighs. They never bag out on me.
    Its not something that I’d seen before, but they are quite a stretchy denim skinny, and they’re great 🙂

    • Hi Janey – that helps loads and is very interesting. I’ve never seen anything like that either. Very interesting indeed. Have they been interfaced before being sewn together or after?

  9. SewingElle says:

    I have no idea about your stretch issue but the ironing out tip sounds fabulous. I like those patterns. I need to make that burda dress!

    • I’ll post about it when I get around to it. The ironing tip and the dress which I’ve started tracing!! I’ve even got the lining and fabric all bought and waiting :). Good distraction hey?

  10. CGCouture says:

    Oh! I have a pin for this! It’s here: http://www.friendsofpr.com/ClareeW/nostretch.jpg hope that helps! And let me know how well it works, because I have this problem SOOOOOO bad too.

  11. Gjeometry says:

    Boo to saggy pants! I’m not too sure why they won’t stay snug. I think that some stretch knits just have more ‘bounceback’ than others. When you purchase the knit, maybe ask at the store if they know anything about the ‘recovery’ of the fabric. That should help it to not stretch out as much.

    • I know booo hooo indeed. Good idea to talk to the store when I buy any fabric with lycra to see if they know about it. In the mean time I’m going to scoop baby scoop, or something, to get the wrinkles out.

I love comments...

