Well what d’ya know!

Will you look at that!  Lookie look look look.

P1040628Those are my skinnies – BurdaStyle 2012/10/116.  Finished.  Passable fit?  Hell yes and I am very, very pleased with myself.

Picture quality is OK (just) …. sorry …. but I guess you’re not here for my photography skills, fortunately.  Anyway, they are made in black cotton drill with 3% lycra and I cut a more or less standard size 38.  The alterations are fairly small and few compared to the multitude of changes I made to the various muslins along the way and overall these are Significantly Better than ALL my previous versions.

I will post about my fitting trials later but now am just happy these are wearable.  In fact I wore them most of yesterday and today, successfully don’t you think?

P1040630I added 1/4″ width at both side seams and inseams, as the drill is only slightly stretchy.  Then I scooped out the front crotch and raised the bottom of the whole crotch curve.  There are still some soft horizontal folds in the lower front crotch but that’s OK for now.

P1040642That pic aint the best but you can see there are a few creases down my legs.  While the butt is OK, the waistband pulls down and out at CB too and I have a slight S bend on the side seams.  That means a prominent butt tweak for next time.

Next time.  Not now.  Happy dance.

This entry was posted in fitting, Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Well what d’ya know!

  1. Super skinny success! Go you good thing! They look great and what a rush after all the effort. Woohoo!

  2. So glad to see the final product 😀 I remember you were trying it out earlier (god I hope this is the same thing :P) and it wasn’t right 🙂 Love the jacket, too! 🙂

    • Hi Fati and it is the same pair X) …. yes I’ve been sewing them For Ages. The jacket was given to me about 15 years ago and is one of my most favourite garments. Its fraying and weary but I don’t care. One day I hope some me-made stuff is like that.

  3. Gjeometry says:

    Oh, not only passable, FABULOUS! I think they fit perfectly and look completely professionally done. They look great on you.

    • Oh you are lovely – thank you! I’ve gotta figure out this fabric thing though as the seat has bagged out rather. I think I need to make them tighter fit in the butt and legs so the wear stretch isn’t too bad after a day or so. Like buying jeans really. I shall have to pull them apart and re-snug them some more!

  4. symondezyn says:

    So. Freaking. Awesome.

    Well, well done, my friend – you CONQUERED the skinnies – at long last!! BRAVO!!!

  5. Tia Dia says:

    Yay! They look great! You deserve every minute of your happy dance, and here’s to more great fitting pants!

  6. SewingElle says:

    Well done! They look fabulous

  7. Sandra says:

    Yay! Great skinnies, they look fab. Must make a note to bookmark that Burda pattern when I get finished with making the kids clothes!

  8. oanh says:

    These look fantastic on you! Well done!

  9. Karen says:

    Pants are so difficult to fit!! But you did a great job – and if they are comfortable to wear, that’s the passing test!

  10. …and trousers have appeared, applause! 🙂 They look great and if you have been wearing them voluntarily then I give a big thumbs up, success! Dance away girlie 🙂

  11. sewbusylizzy says:

    Congratulations! They are looking great, you must be proud of yourself!

    • Oh I am Lizzy, thanks! There is just something so damn satisfying about making something work that has been a real pain in the ass at times. I might just have to make them again though to discount ‘The-did-it-by-fluke’ possibility …

  12. Pella says:

    Pretty amazing I think.

  13. amaryllislog says:

    Oops that should have been skinnies, but when you wear them you are the skinniest! Very flattering!

  14. amaryllislog says:

    OMG they are perfect! You did it! You are definetely rocking the skinniest in style!

    I’m a little concerned with scooping out the crotch, haha, only a sewist would be able to make sense of that.

    Anyway big pay off, the perfect pattern for your body!

    • I did it I did it I did it!!! Including crotch scooping …. cripes I hadn’t thought about that being read out of context, though I haven’t had a surge in spam so, yet *smile*.

      Now I need some more. And a few more tops to wear with them. Just as well there are plans afoot to (slowly) sort that out!

  15. Sewbussted says:

    When I saw the first picture, my first impression was, “WOW!” congratulations! You deserve a happy dance 🙂

  16. Great- You did it! Wonderful fit for sure. 🙂

  17. 1107nikki says:

    Wow! Great work, these look amazing. I’m impressed wih anyone making trousers and these look really comfy.

  18. Sandra says:

    They look fabulous and most definitely wearable – well worth all the hard work. Makes we want to get a wiggle on and sew up my next pair.

  19. Wow, the fit on these is excellent!! All the hard work and angst definitely paid off if this is your end (or progress so far) result – super awesome!!

  20. Fabulous fit – you look gorgeous and have the right to feel proud!

I love comments...

