A Dollop of Pants Perspective

terrible trousers dom post

SourceΒ  – picture scanned from national NZ newspaper The Dominion Post weekend edition 3/4 August (I think)

Need I say more about crotch fit?

This entry was posted in fitting, not sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to A Dollop of Pants Perspective

  1. Gjeometry says:

    Wow, wonder how they did not notice it prior to print-time?? I’m still working on my trousers, but actually the crotch fit is pretty good!! It’s the waist and small of back gape issue that is the not so pretty part.

    • I wonder if they noticed after print-time! Part of me hopes they are still blissfully oblivious, but most of me isn’t.

      I’m wearing my trousers and I have the same slight issue. I can’t wait to see your trou. Mine are done and I’m trial wearing them tonight while I blog etc. Twill be interesting to see what tweaks will be tried for the next pair.

  2. Crotch fit, schmotch fit… hehe!

  3. This has made me so happy. After a run of fit disasters I was feeling pretty beat up about my sewing..then I see this and realise that even my worst fits are better than this. Hurrah!

  4. Karen says:

    Yuck! It’s no wonder those models look so gloomy!

  5. symondezyn says:

    oh dear 😦
    makes you wonder why we get so uptight about fit when this kind of thing is so common in RTW advertising. Is this current? Looks like an 80’s nightmare!! LOL

    • It does, which was my point and that of the friend who sent it to me. This is current – was in the weekend paper from last Saturday/Sunday. And its a national newspaper to boot.

  6. CGCouture says:

    Well, that pretty much makes everyone feel better about their sewing, eh? πŸ˜‰ Seriously though, Lord help us all if that monochromatic wardrobe thing comes back!

  7. SewingElle says:

    So the “general public” must not notice or care about this??? Or the stylist just made a big mistake?
    Really, your pants fitting is amazing!

    • Oh lord I don’t want to believe that as it makes me sad. Particularly as the members of general public producing this picture didn’t notice or perhaps they didn’t care. That, in a fashion image, is unforgivable never mind that this is an image for an apparel ad.

      And Oh Yes My Pants Fit Is Amazing. In comparison! LOLOL.

  8. Sandra says:

    Omigosh that photo takes me right back to 1986, and not in a good way! Except then the colours were prob apricot and mint green! You would think that the art dept might have at least tried to airbrush out the wrinkles!

    • Hah! You’re right about apricot and mint green – colours I cannot wear. Do you think terrible crotch fit is an 80s thing too? I can’t remember ’twas too long ago πŸ™‚

      I wish the airbrush had been applied but then again we wouldn’t have such incredible backwards inspiration, as it were.

  9. Lene says:

    Amazing! It hasn’t changed my desire to get a better fit, but perhaps I need not worry so much? On the other hand – this is why I sew. I want a better fit!

    • Isn’t it and doesn’t it? That’s why I posted it because its a very inspirational image, in a backwards kind of way. Oh just thought – perhaps the trousers are on backward by mistake? In which case that god we can’t see the back lolol.

      I have almost finished the first real crack at my skinny trou and will post about them soon. I shall have to check out your blog to see how you are getting on with your trou …..

  10. oh dear! that’s probably why they look so miserable!

  11. dressesandme says:

    Oh no! That’s terrible/ hilarious! What shop were they advertising out of interest?

    • I had to laugh too. And cringe. Made for interesting facial shapes lol. The store name wasn’t included in the scan sent to me and I don’t get that newspaper. I’ll have to see if anyone still has a copy lying around.

  12. amaryllislog says:

    Gasp…is it a trendy? Yuck.

    • I don’t know. I really really really hope not. The problem with this image is that it sticks in your brain. If it is trendy here’s hoping it is only so with teens, who are young and blissfully unaware?

  13. Tiffany says:

    What was the designer even thinking. I have never seen crotches that bad.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/CurvyTiffy?ref=listing-shop-header-item-count

  14. Oh my. Snicker. Surely the stylist, or photographer, or editor would have noticed that.

    I feel much more inclined to attempt trousers now.

    • That’s what I thought. Its bad enough that the retailer approved the photograph but there are more ‘fashion conscious’ aware folk involved than that too.

      Oh it made me feel quite proud of my trousers, which are nearly finished too!! I have to say that was why I posted it πŸ™‚

  15. Oh erk pew, gah, I thought this was from a 1987 magazine!!!

  16. Zara says:

    Wow, those are both so bad! …and they’re not cheap either!

  17. Wow, just wow, for both of them! Sometimes I think that “bad fit” is actually a trend, like “cheap” as in inexpensive looking but also as in slutty, le sigh.

  18. Sewbussted says:

    Nope, enough said πŸ™‚

  19. Jo says:

    Hahaha amazing!

I love comments...

