Something kinda wonderful

I know you know how wonderful it is to talk for hours about sewing with similarly addicted folk.  Well Saturday was, in that case, a wonderful day because me and ten other sewing nuts spent it together.  Out.

What did we do?  Oh we ate deliciousness, went op shopping (thrifting, if you prefer) and spent a bit of time fabric shopping too.  But mostly we laughed and talked.

About sewing.

It was lovely and utterly exhausting.

Of course I bought a few little goodies along the way.

Palmy Jul13 stuffThe patterns I’m most pleased with.  The Vogue white dress and jacket are fab ….

The fabric was an op shop find and possibly (though probably not) a silk blend and if so it will go into the stash for future garment lining.  If, upon burning, it doesn’t have any silk in it at all I’ll use it for new kids’ dress-ups.

One other piece came home with me from Arthur Toye (fabric retailer) which is in the dryer as I type.  It is rather dull but ever so soft light grey cotton lycra with which I will be  making desperately needed PJ bottoms for moi.

I don’t have any pictures of the day as I left my camera at home (yes I am a twit), but a couple of the crew have already blogged about it more eloquently than I could plus have lovely photos posted so please do go check it out here and here.

Finally, thank you so very much to the ladies for a thoroughly marvelous day.  That’s  Melissa, Juliet, Elisabeth, Wendy, Johanna, Trees, Linda, Amanda, Nikki and Holly.

This entry was posted in not sewing, Patterns and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Something kinda wonderful

  1. Tia Dia says:

    I love that Vogue pattern, too. Just popped over to the other blogs you linked and it looks like you had the most spectacular day of fun. And tea!!! 🙂

    • There’s something about the dress that is just cool …. Do you have it?

      There’s also something about high tea! This was my first and I loved it. Will have to dust off the china sets at home and get baking small yummies with the girls …

  2. symondezyn says:

    Love that Vogue pattern – very sleek & elegant! 😀 I’ll be crossing my fingers that you scored some silk there 🙂

  3. The Sewphist says:

    It really was lovely to meet you too!

  4. treesinnz says:

    It was so lovely to meet you – let us know if that blue fabric is silk and you really did get a great haul of patterns at the op shop:)

    • You too. I will let you know about the blue though the more I handle it the more I think it’s acetate. Ewww. Still, it’ll make a very cute swishy princess dress right? For the kids that is lol.

  5. dressesandme says:

    I love those retro patterns especially the little girl’s shift dress 🙂 I love meeting up with other sewists! It’s so nice to chat with likeminded people who love to sew as much as I do!

  6. Jo says:

    Yay what fun! I especially love the top left simplicity pattern. Always a sucker for a capelet! It was so great to see you! 🙂

I love comments...

