Blow wind blow

While the first of our winter storms rages outside I am busy unsubscribing all my feeds from Google Reader and playing a serious game of catch-up in my new one.  Just in time really as July 1 is looming and ideally I’d like to get my data off Google before it dies.

I have ended up with The Old Reader as it seems simpler than pretty much everything else I tried or looked at and thus far works much like Google Reader.  And as a “bear of little brain” I don’t want social media this and formatty that, so its just me and my subscriptions thank you.  So far I am happy with my choice though suspect that either it’ll stop being free soon or will go the way of GR in the not too distant future.  I can live with that.

Other than that and the demands of my other life I have been rearranging my sewing room.  Moving furniture around to make room for a wonderful new piece of sewing equipment – a very large 1.2 square meter peg board made by fabulous Pip-who-sews (very clever girl Pip).  I just need more pegs.  A lot more pegs.

P1040555

Oh and I am further avoiding sewing those damned skinny trousers with this …. (view A apparently) in a crinkly light cotton.  Perfect for winter and work.  Not.

New Look 6976
Image from sewing.patternreview.com

Of course a muslin is in the works.

PS I haven’t done three muslins of the skinnies.  I haven’t.  Truly.  I haven’t been sewing them in 10 minute increments either or bolloxing them up one and all.  Not me.  Nope.

This entry was posted in not sewing, Patterns and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Blow wind blow

  1. Oooh pegboard! I like organisation. Good luck with the arranging, the top, and the cursed skinnies!

  2. Javie says:

    I decided to checkout The Old Reader too since you mentioned it (nothing like waiting until the last moment huh?) and it is good enough for me. Still need to go though my list of blogs now…

    • Oh cool – I have managed to go through only about half my subs on Google Reader and deleted them. I’ll just have to do a purge now as the clock is indeed ticking! Actually I’m also checking out Digg’s reader …. might change my mind. Dunno 🙂

      • Javie says:

        Hee hee- last minute I decided to check out Digg too. It is easier to import the subs from GR before it goes down permanently. Also Feedly has now changed so you don’t need to download any browser extensions or aps. You still need Chrome though. So looking at Feedly again too. What to do …..

      • I will be interested to see what you did do LOL…..

    • Oh wow thank you Michelle …. I’ll have to find out what I need to be a-doing. Does that mean I have to finish those damned skinny trou? No, don’t answer that 🙂

  3. Why hello there! 🙂 Ohh, have been thinking about peg board for a while now myself, I think I may have to copy you now, and I’ll need lots of pegs too!

    • Good idea, though I have to say this brilliant idea was Pip’s (I just rode her coat tails). The pegs can be got from a manufacturer who sell on Trade Me …. Let me know if you’d like the details.

      • Can I please have the TradeMe link? I was going to get a peg board on the weekend but…weather…so next weekend… 🙂 I am guessing it will not have the pretty blue frame like yours so I will also visit the wood and paint isles 😉

      • Ello! Here’s the link to the folk who sell the pegs : http://www.trademe.co.nz/a.aspx?id=578503053 Its an old auction but gives you the details.

        The board we bought from Mitre 10 Mega and you can get it 1.2m x 2.4m, so either have a huuuge board or (as we did) go halves with someone. It costs a little extra for them to cut it in half for you at the store. Pip bought the half rounds framing, glued them on and painted them all purty for me too :). Again Mitre 10 Mega will cut the pieces to the right length for you if you ask, for minimal extra cost.

        Please do share pics when you’re all done 🙂

    • Awesome, got me a peg board already framed up, a “second” from some place in Auckland, 900 x 600 (same size as my pin boards) for $10! I’ll just buy another one if I want more space. I should get it tomorrow, and just emailing your contact now for some pegs. Thanks 🙂 All going well I’ll get it up this weekend and after my pegs arrive I’ll take some pictures.

  4. amaryllislog says:

    Ooh the peg board is very nice, how organized of you and inspiring me!

    I’m almost to the point where if a project is going to take to much front end effort, I give! You are much more determined then I.

  5. Pella says:

    I do envy your peg board.

  6. symondezyn says:

    LOL at least you’ve made more progress than me!! I said, “stuff it” and jammed my in-progress Burda tunic muslin and pattern and all associated items into a plastic bag and hid it in the other room. Then i went shopping and bought fabric. Yeah. Real productive. LOL.

  7. CGCouture says:

    Oh man. Sorry to hear about the skinnies, maybe some time away from the project will cause that ah-ha! moment.

    So anyway, love the pegboard. I have some in my sewing room, and I couldn’t imagine storing all my stuff without it. If you can find the long hooks, they work really well for spools of serger thread–I actually stack a couple spools on one hook to save space. 🙂

    • Skinnies, schminnies LOL! The peg board however is an a ha moment in itself. I will order some of those long pegs for thread but also cos I wanna hang patterns there, when I get around to transferring my faves to card. That’s the plan anyhow.

  8. Tia Dia says:

    I admire all your work to get the perfect fit on a pair of skinnies. I must say I’ve made up a BS pair of trousers drafted for stretch fabrics, and I am waaaaay happier with the “fit out of the box” than with the Vogue block. I’m going to keep playing with this, and look forward to seeing your tweakings and results!

    • It is so interesting, this trousers fitting thing and the difference a small amount of additional curve on the crotch seam can make to overall fit is an eye opener, in some ways. On skinnies it is so much more obvious – I really shouldn’t be surprised by this right? I do love wearing skinnies ….

  9. Miriana says:

    Bloglovin does an automatic transfer of blogs from reader which may take a bit of the pain out of it.

  10. Sewbussted says:

    I’m going to borrow your peg board idea. My husband has peg board up in his workshop and I’ve seen others use it, but as I looked at your pictures, it just hit me as a solution. Just the right moment I guess:)

    • Timing is everything don’t you think? I hadn’t even thought of a pegboard until Pip wanted to make one. The board was available in 2.4m lengths which were somewhat too large for her wall LOL. Perfect opportunity and perfect timing. Check out where to get pegs from though before you get the board made up as the =standard ones are slightly turned up at the end so you can’t slide thread spools onto them. We got ours online from a company that makes them and I’m sure you’ll find somewhere ‘locally’ who can do that for you too.

I love comments...

