Patterns patterns patterns!

Oh my, this week is pattern intensive.  Very pattern intensive and in a good way.

I have finally finished tweaking the BurdaStyle wrap blouse pattern and will tonight cut it out for real.  I am ever so proud of myself for doing all the alterations ‘properly’ as it is a first for me.

That’s pretty darn exciting.  Yes ’tis.  But there’s more.

I won this little lovely in a Pendle Stitches giveaway.  Thank you thank you Evie.

P1040473

However, it doesn’t stop there.  From my very kind neighbour :

P1040475

And it keeps comin’.  Look what I found today at a couple of the local op/thrift shops:

P1040468

In case you’re wondering, the gingham is 3m ‘vintage’ cotton for $5 and the lace is cotton for $1 a pop.

But STOP.  Will you look at the Vogue gown pattern.  Just look!  Gorgeous.  Simple and gorgeous.  The long version requires a scant 10-11 yards of fabric and I have no need for a wedding gown but.  Well.  Wouldn’t you?  And PS the middle right hand vintage pattern is a doll pattern.  So stylish – beats Barbie hands down.

This entry was posted in Patterns, Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Patterns patterns patterns!

  1. Andrea says:

    Nice haul, time to buy fabric now!

    • I wish! I am trying to not buy more fabric unless I need it because my ‘to make’ list is all swatched and ready with fabric I already own. I’m trying to be good. Really really trying. Really. 🙂

  2. You’ve got some sewing to do!

  3. oanh says:

    What a great haul! I love all the kids clothes patterns.

  4. sewbussted says:

    Wow, you hit the mother load!! Great patterns.

  5. symondezyn says:

    It’s like they keep dividing and multiplying! lol 🙂 I like the vogue options dress; very pretty, and lots of great basics in the rest of the pile 🙂

  6. kaitui_kiwi says:

    Notice the Vogue gown?! Notice it?! Woman it’s all I can see, it eclipses all else! I also note that you fail to mention your source 😉 hehe, I never have that much luck thrift shopping.

  7. kaitui_kiwi says:

    The Vogue gown was all I could see! It eclipses all else…I notice you left out exactly where you found them, guard the source 😉 I never have that much luck thrift shopping

    • Well, now that I HAVE the Vogue gown pattern I am happy to reveal the source (he he he). I shall email you the ones I check out, cos there are several and t’would be dull for everyone who can’t make it here :o)

  8. Gjeometry says:

    Wow, so many patterns! Well done. Lovely Vogue wedding gown. (11 yards of fabric, lol). I can’t say I’ve ever bought 11 yards of the same fabric before. 🙂

  9. You’re welcome…but I’m itching to see the Burda wrap blouse!
    The gown pattern is gorgeous…and that little red girls dress is to die for!

  10. What a haul, and I love the gingham!

  11. Javie says:

    Wow- what a great bunch! I have V8766 and love the lace dress.

    • Hiya. I’ve a lovely brocade which I was given too and am going to see if I can make this with it for winter working …. Its not a shiney brocade but a matt cottony one so I’m hopeful. We’ll see

  12. amaryllislog says:

    Nice haul indeed. Sometimes I find the pattern envelopes with illustrations so beautiful, especially the vintage patterns and that might be the catalyst for the purchase (no intension of actually making a garment).

    I’m excited to hear all about the final wrap blouse, details please!

    • I know, me too obviously :-). I’m thinking that the short version without the train (oh and def. without the hat/head thing) would be a good go out dress if I want to frock up. Who knows?

      Don’t worry I won’t be able to resist posting the wrap top details lol. Are you back yet? Bread making will commence tonight so pics will come your way soon.

      • amaryllislog says:

        Way after the fact, but thank you so much for the bread pictures. It seriously gave me the confidence to try making the bread and now look what you have created, a bread making addict! You are so guilty of my latest obsession, which I have to admit I’m loving! Currently three loafs into it!

      • That’s one addiction I’m proud to have passed on lol. You are very very welcome and I’m glad to have helped. The recipe was a cousin’s and she totally hooked me onto it. I haven’t looked back and that was three years ago. Phew, now time flies when there’s bread a-baking. Have you stuck with the white or branched out into other flavourings too?

  13. Karen says:

    I’m looking forward to seeing your wrap blouse! And yes, that bridal dress pattern really should have come home with you, if only to look at from time to time for its loveliness!

  14. CherryPix says:

    Oh the possibilities! I recently chanced upon a jackpot of patterns at our local recycling venue…met a few new local sewing acquaintances too, as we rifled carefully through the ageing tissue, hoping the cut pieces were our sizes!! We all were lucky! Congrats on perfecting the Burda wrap blouse! Looking forward to the final reveal.

  15. Anne W says:

    wow! Love those! And that Vogue gown – stunning….

    • Now to find an occassion to require making it …. hmmmm.

      • Anne W says:

        What, you can’t wear that to work??? ;p Maybe a short skirt version?

      • Well, I was thinking to myself that I could but I might be, um, unusually clad vis a vis my collegues. I do love the train though and that would get in the way – sitting down on an office swivel chair would be interesting don’t you think?

        The short skirt version is a definite to work actually I reckon. I’ll just make it in a non-silky something …. its in the queue for one day that’s for sure.

  16. sewbusylizzy says:

    What a pattern haul! Oh course this doesn’t mean you need to stop buying more though….

  17. Jo says:

    Some really cute stuff there!! 🙂

I love comments...

