What a muddle

BS00014 adjustments muddle

Yes I am doing a few alterations to this wrap top and enjoying it immensely.  I have never done “proper” alterations before and I find it very very interesting indeed.

The count currently stands at five or six completed and the pieces are a bit of a muddle.  Some changes overlap others, and most impact other seam lines too.  Complicated?  Yes, and all done now right?

Not quite.

I cut out and pinned together new fronts and back with all these changes included and the shoulder and side seams are out of whack.  Not by much but by enough.  Damn.

I must have missed a few alterations to adjoining pieces so will need to go back and check each one against the original etc.  I got too enthusiastic is all.

How do you handle keeping track of multiple alterations?

This entry was posted in not sewing, Patterns and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to What a muddle

  1. Jo says:

    Those look like some very interesting and well-done alterations! Especially the ones around the armholes! I suspect you could teach me a lot!

    • Thanks Jo, I really did enjoy doing them! Hurt my brain a bit though lol. My dear I have the BEST book which I’d love to go through with you. Assuming, of course, that the final muslin I’m making now goes together and fits me OK ;-). I love love love this book.

  2. kaitui_kiwi says:

    I just make changes, and keep making changes, then I make some more…and then finally I walk each seam line together until they are all right! 🙂

    • Oh good. That’s what I did. Uses a lot of tape. And lists! Fingers crossed it worked cos I’m putting my ‘final’ muslin together to see how everything comes out.

  3. amaryllislog says:

    Oddly I find at some point I start over with the alterations done and keep going forward…it’s usually a nightmare for me so I’ll be looking for some really good advice on this one!

    • Oh dear, alteration nightmares! I suspect I was a little over zealous with the erect back and sway back ones so may have taken too much out. We shall see, because I really don’t have anything with which to compare it.

      Hmmm advice. Sure! I hope 🙂

  4. Gjeometry says:

    Alterations are definitely a huge part of sewing. Good for you, for figuring it all out so well!
    Oh, also had to tell you that I had a friend over for dinner last night and while she was very interested in seeing what I had sewn, when I tried talking about the interfacing I had recently bought and the alterations to a pattern I’m working on, I got that BLANK STARE that we talked about. Lol.

    • Oh no. The dreaded BLANK STARE ….. again! LMAO. Well, she brought it on herself by asking about what you were sewing. Did you have to break off mid sentence? I’ve done that and the person I was talking to didn’t even notice lol.

      Thanks about the alterations. I remember being horrified when I started sewing and discovered that things don’t just magically fit when sewn up straight out of the envelope. Now I’m kinda glad it isn’t that straight forward because I am learning so much about how to work with patterns and make flat 2 dimensional translate to 3D forms. Very interesting too.

  5. CGCouture says:

    Wish I had something to help contribute, but mostly I just wing it. But I will say that your tissue alterations so far make your pieces look pretty similar to mine (would you like some tissue with all that tape?) 😉

    • Definitely would like more tissue. And more tape. Hah! And I’m getting quicker at snip snipping too …. Thanks for the encouragement … it is good to know I’m not doing anything wildly off the radar!

  6. Michelle says:

    I write a list of all the body measurements I’m changing, then list the corresponding pattern pieces and tick them off as I make the changes on the pattern pieces. I also match the stitching lines on the pattern pieces at least twice (they are very good at deceiving!).
    Good luck!

    • Good idea about also listing the corresponding piece alterations per alteration. I will definitely be doing that. Thanks Michelle.

      Oh and ticking off lists is always a something I like to do :-).

  7. symondezyn says:

    I keep a notebook of my alterations as I make them, but honestly I still end up with mismatches sometimes lol… especially when I’m redrafting something 🙂

    • Yep I do this now and I have to remember to alter the other pattern pieces where the changes impact them. Actually I need to do those additional changes straight away else it’d be disaster.

      I’ve just gone through all the alterations and I only had to adjust two seams so that’s not so bad after all.

  8. Javie says:

    I can relate. I need to write each change down as I make it because I tend to forget about it later. One helpful tip I have heard is to mark the stitching line on the pattern pieces and after the alterations, check to see if the pattern pieces match up (e.g. for front and back pieces). It’s a bit more work but at least you can see where you are off. Good luck!!

    • I guess it isn’t really that surprising that we can’t remember because we’re talking about different fractions of an inch each alteration. And then they intersect!

      Great idea to match the stitching lines on the pattern pieces. I’ll try that. Thanks Javie.

  9. Andrea says:

    Emily, when I make alterations to a top pattern, it ends up looking like it went through a chop shop, because of my large FBA and narrower back & shoulders. Typically I pin a piece of tracing paper to my cutting table and write down each alteration in the order I do them, and the amount of change, and I try to remember to check the grain line after each alteration. When I get to a point that seems like I will be happy with the fit, I retrace my altered pattern, label it, and make a note of original size, pattern #, and alterations made.
    You are almost there!

    • Hi Andrea – yeah I really do need a list, you’re absolutely right. Thanks Andrea. I have to remember that ‘good enough’ is much more realistic than perfect too :o)

I love comments...

