Essential planning session

I now have a ‘completed’ pile of sewing options.  Fabrics are paired with patterns ready to go to pre-wash stage as required.  I did need a few new pieces to complete the set ….

P1040358

Interestingly most of the patterns I’ve decided to sew up are from BurdaStyle or Manequim magazines along with a smattering of envelope patterns.  I’m avoiding posting the specifics until I’m ready to actually sew them.

Chicken?  Maybe.  Pragmatic?  Yes.

This entry was posted in magazines, not sewing, Patterns and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Essential planning session

  1. symondezyn says:

    Gorgeous fabrics!! Beautiful colours and textures – I really really like everything there! Really love the pop of orange with the luxurious neutrals:)

    Even within planning, I love keeping the option open to change my mind! I plan in small groups, and try to keep it general like “pencil skirt” or “tunic top” rather than specific patterns, unless I know FOR SURE what pattern I want to use for something.

    I like BurdaStyle patterns – I have one in my next queue! ^__^ Looking forward to seeing what you create! 🙂

    • Thanks m’dear – I’m especially looking forward to using the colourful silk-cotton (the orange) and the sparkly wool blend. Neither will be a pencil skirt but there is one of those and a tunic top in the queue too.

  2. sophie o. says:

    And it looks like you have a nice colour palette there too! Perfect for wardrobe planning!

    • Hey Sophie – planning. Hmmm I’m so on the fence about it normally but needs must :-). I like the colours too, fortunately, though had to remind myself constantly that yellow just is Not my colour and to Put Back that orange etc. We shall see how it turns out eventually.

      • sophie o. says:

        oh it’s a shame that yellow does not suit you, it’s such a great colour! I love yellow and orange but don’t seem to wear them that much, especially in winter. Which is a shame, it would bring a little warmth in those gloomy days!

  3. sophie o. says:

    I’m also really looking forward to seeing what you’ve planned! I love planning posts – I can’t do one for the coming season being pregnant (although I should plan my baby’s wardrobe).

  4. Sew like the wind….I can’t wait to see!

  5. Oh how exciting. Looking forward to seeing your creations! 🙂

  6. amaryllislog says:

    I’d say you’re wise! Changing your mind is always a fair option!

  7. Every Stitch says:

    that’s impressive – just look at how much smaller your fabric stash is already (these are no longer part of the stash – they’re now projects waiting, so don’t count as part if the stash).

    • It rather exciting actually as I’ve never really done this sort of organised sewing plan thing before as it makes me itch, just a little :). Besides, I get a bit of a kick out of the little pile of projects swatched and waiting for action.

  8. CGCouture says:

    I’ve learned it’s best to never disclose the patterns you plan to sew up–if you do, there’s a very high risk of non-starting. Or at least non-finishing. 😉 Good luck!

  9. CherryPix says:

    Love the fabric stack!! Looking forward to seeing your creations.

I love comments...

