Getting out a bit

A muslin for this rather classy wrap blouse is all cut out and on the sewing table.  I am going to get the needle flying tomorrow come what may …..

BS 0014

BurdaStyle special autumn/winter 2012 style 00014

Oh and guess what?  The kids are back to school on Monday so quiet sewing time will be mine again.  I’m itching to get on with just the cat for company.  For hours.

Actually, given that there are two fabric sales on I might have to dart out for a bit on Monday.

Speaking of leaving the sewing room I have been extremely tardy writing about the Wellington blogger meetup last month.  Some very much needed getting out was achieved and I need more of that in my stitching life.

To the Wellington Botanical Gardens we went on a glorious summers day and I had a lovely lovely time.  These ladies are one and all interesting, clever, funny and supportive and much more organised than me.  There are several posts about the afternoon already and as I have no new pictures or words to add, I shall leave it at that other than to say I am thoroughly looking forward to the next one.

And now I leave you with a little slice of my vegetable garden.  Because I can.

P1040343

This entry was posted in not sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Getting out a bit

  1. Andrea says:

    Love your garden!

  2. Tia Dia says:

    I have my eye on that top, too! Can’t wait to see it all made up and modeled.

  3. symondezyn says:

    That blouse is dynamite!! I can’t wait to see your version! 🙂

    • Me either and its nearly done (well the toile) so will be posting about it soon …. I wish there were more versions blogged but there are none so fingers crossed that doesn’t mean its a shite pattern which cannot look cute. Ha ha ha, that would be my luck 🙂

  4. This is a fabulous shirt.
    I was slightly bemused by the picture of the vegetable garden. Couldn’t work out what the bright stuff was and then realised it was sunshine…sadly lacking in these parts. Just a smidge envious right now! 😉

    • Sorry about the sunshine. Really I would bottle it and send you some. If its any consolation the heating came on in the early hours the last few days.

      I’ve had to stop sewing my shirt toile to put everything away for house guests, including a 2 year old. EVERYTHING is away LOL. Remember those day!

      • I feel you on that one. Mine are 5 and 4 and still have fingers in everything. The shirt is boiling my head at the moment! Ambitions outstripping skills perhaps. I’m channelling Tim Gunn and making it work!

      • Ooo I need to skip over and see how the shirt is getting on …. perhaps you could lassoo the little ones to count buttons and bobbins to give you a few extra minutes to Tim Gunn it 😉

      • I got the sleeves in yesterday! He tried it on and it looks a bit like a shirt. I’m astonished! 😉

  5. What a great shirt! Good luck and can’t wait to see it.

  6. Pella says:

    Oh great, classy pattern!

  7. kaitui_kiwi says:

    Love the collar/neck line of that wrap blouse, very flattering and classic. Also loving your vege garden, I started mine in the existing raised beds (calling them “rasied” is being genenrous! Sad little half-round bordered thing) but after our next garden clear out (hopefully weekend after Waitangi) I am planning to get some sleepers and make up three beds like yours, much more grown up looking 😉

    I am glad you have a great time with us! 🙂

    • I was inspired by your garden and was thinking about it when I posted the picture. Cool about building three new beds with sleepers. I have to say the macracarpa (NZ pine) sleepers JJ used to make our beds smell absolutely divine when they are first put in….. Kinda like Christmas if you have a real tree.

  8. amaryllislog says:

    Ohhh I do love the outfit you are proposing, it’s very lovely! I think I would wear to the first day of work!

    Your garden looks delicious, can you hear me yearning for summer, jealous! And your meet up looks like a load of fun!

    • I like both though the trousers are rather hard to see in the model shot. I am still mulling about them and may go for skinnies instead. Hubs doesn’t like the trou but loves the idea of the top.

      The garden is wonderful and we have had a handful of little cherry tomatoes already which me and the girls have scoffed before getting inside. Wonderful. However, our days are getting shorter so your time is a-coming 🙂

      • amaryllislog says:

        Skinnies would look great with this blouse, very sleek!

        We have gained one hour of daylight since the winter solstice, so now it’s light until about 5:30p. Such a huge improvement!

      • I hope so – I’ve a lovely new drapey ponte for the skinnies too and they’re relatively high on the sewing list too.

        Isn’t that new spring daylight a wonderful change? I always feel it happens so fast and then suddenly its getting warmer and, in your case, the spring flowers push their way through the snow just a little. My favourite time of the year is spring. Without doubt. Followed closely by winter, oddly enough.

  9. Anne W says:

    I’m liking that top, will be fab with your new business wardrobe!

I love comments...

