Simplicity in a bed sheet

I am in the process of making this lovely little dress using a bed sheet.

Simplicity 5916

I should mention that I am making a muslin only, therefore please reset any expectation that the dress will look anything like the pretty little numbers featured by other clever folk.  Nope.  It looks like this.

S5916 muslin#1

Yes well, I did warn you.

Oh and I pinned some of the excess out of the CF (1/2″ or so) just to see what it would do and then forgot to take the pins out for the fitting shot.  Never mind.  You get the idea.  Anyway, I see a few things to start checking out with my book etc:

  • There is gaping at CF, CB, across the bust and under my arms.  ‘Tis too big.
  • When I have managed to re-size it, I may still need to do a sway back alteration.  The excess fabric sitting on my lower back could also be causing the side seams to twist.
  • With the CB I’m probably going to need to do something tricksey to stop it drooping.  I’ve read about elastic and/or some sort of reinforcement across the back on halter tops so will check that out.

At least the waist is actually on my waist!

PS I’m not showing you the lower half of the dress cos I should’ve worn a slip!  This sheet is a little too thin and who lines a dress muslin?

Speaking of toiles / muslins / mock ups, I wonder what fabric you use.  Do you hoard old bed and table linen?  Do you search out cheap lengths at fabric sales and thrift shops?  Perhaps you go lux using real “fashion fabric” from ‘the hoard’?

This entry was posted in Patterns, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Simplicity in a bed sheet

  1. gloria says:

    I use sheets, I find muslinswwaybtoo thin and wriggly for a good fit. Calico is a good option, but my fave is a non iron on thin interfacing. I then pick it apart and use it as the pattern and it folds down beautifully.

    • Oo I’ve heard others who use the thin interfacing but I’m too cheap to buy it. I should give it a try because am hopeless at updating my paper pattern with alterations made and using interfacing would remove the need for that step. Thanks Gloria for reminding me 🙂

  2. Kristina says:

    The muslin already looks so good, it will be a gorgeous dress!!

  3. amaryllislog says:

    Oops that should be “your” urgh!

  4. amaryllislog says:

    This is going to be an adorable dress, perfect muslin fitting! Oh I’ve just read you next post, hold that thought for a moment! Still very nice!

  5. I sometimes make wearable toiles and other times I use sheets too – have to say, it´s already looking great!

  6. Javie says:

    Cute style! Good luck with the fitting process. I typically use tan “muslin” fabric and mark it up with a Sharpie. I need to start burning my stash inventory though so I might start using my “discount table” fabric this year.

    • Thanks Javie – marking it up with a Sharpie is a good idea. I’ll try that this time I think. I’ve been trying not to buy any more discount table fabric …. actually I’ve been trying not to go to fabric stores. Trying is the operative word 😉

  7. Kat H says:

    Um, yes. Muslins. Well, I sometimes consider doing one, but then I just think, feck it, and let my impatience to get started win out and jump straight on in with the ‘real’ fabric. I make notes on what I create, so if I like the pattern enough to make it up a second time, I use those to make alterations for the next time ’round. (But yes, I am lazy when it comes to muslins. One of those things I know I should do, but I just don’t do…..)

  8. symondezyn says:

    That’s what I do too!! Thrifted bedsheets are WAY cheaper than actual muslin, and I feel better about reusing anyway 🙂 Your muslin is looking good; the fit is going to be amazing after all your adjustments! 🙂

  9. Pella says:

    Its looking pretty good so far. For toiles I sometimes use old sheets, but most often I’m using a fabric laughably cheap as a trial run/wearable toile.

  10. kaitui_kiwi says:

    I like using sheets too, or just super cheap cotton from Spotlight…calico is good too because it comes in different weights, you can pick a weight closest to your fashion fabric 🙂

  11. Typically I’m a wearable muslin kind of girl. There is quite a bit of fabric in my stash that was bought on sale that isn’t maybe as good as I thought it was 5 years ago. By contrast, I only have a couple of sheets I don’t use often now that the guest bed is the only double bed in the house. Give me another 10 years and I’ll be ready to cut them up. 😉

    It’s a pretty pattern you have there. It is going to look really good with a few tweaks and your final fabric.

  12. Old sheets are great for toiles! I have a box of them that I dip into. Good luck with your adjustments!

  13. I love using old bedsheets…they’re a great size and free! Perfect.

I love comments...

