Plan B

Buoyed by your fab comments on my trouser tantrum I set myself up last night to take the trousers in.  I was feeling pretty confident and relaxed about it until… the zip broke.

I mean properly broke.  Teeth missing pull tab non-functional broke.  Bollox.

Its not hard to replace a zip especially when most of the seams are already opened but I really really really can’t face it just now.  So, the trou are wadded up on the floor somewhere and I’m going to ignore them for a while.

You would have been very proud of me though because I didn’t stamp or cry or shout or storm or even slam any doors.  The kids were in bed so I was by necessity quiet and restrained as I poured a large glass of wine and got on with muttered re-planning.  Successful muttered re-planning.

A couple of years ago I attended sewing classes on trouser drafting that, until recently, I had more or less forgotten about.  I knew nothing about fitting trousers at the time and the classes didn’t cover it at all so the calico I made on the last day has sat in the cupboard with the door shut ever since.  Now that I’ve been through a few iterations of one lot of fitting pants and have a crotch curve that seems acceptable on me, I think I’m in a much better position to use the class notes.

My plan therefore is to draft up a pair of trou with a fly front, pockets front and back, copy the crotch curve from the pants-of-the-failed-zipper and I should be in business.  All I need do now is measure myself and get on with it.

Woman!  Measure Thyself.

This entry was posted in not sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Plan B

  1. Amy says:

    Oh! I’m quite excited to see where this goes…

  2. MrsC says:

    We missed you today! It was fun, I hope you can come to the next one, and I think there will be another one 🙂

    • I knew it was going to be fun – I was crook darnit. Didn’t want to infect you ….even had the hubs lined up to do mock ballet exams! LOL he was stressing about the unknown there let me tell you. I will definintely come next time as WILL NOT be getting sick again.

  3. Tia Dia says:

    Oy. Drafting is a scary word for me, never having taken any courses and having no motivation to actually do something from scratch when there’s a million or more patterns that could be a good starting point. What a !@#(*&!@#”*($& thing to happen with that bleepin’ zipper. Whenever I reach a point like this in a project, I laugh and then cry and then laugh and cry again and swear, damn it, I’ll win! You go girl! I’m cheering you on along with Anne W: Onwards and upwards!

  4. liza jane says:

    Good luck with the drafting! I have had minimal luck with sewing trousers (really, just one pair came out right). I’ve always wanted to draft a pair thinking that would be the key. One of these days!

  5. symondezyn says:

    I seem to have at least one moment like that for each project – I’ve found it’s definitely good to distance yourself from it so you don’t let resentment jinx the fix lol 🙂 Good luck with the next stages! 🙂

    • For each project? wow you’re strong! I think I’d turn to jelly if that happened each time ha ha! Distance is good – very good :O)

      • symondezyn says:

        lol! maybe it’s cause I’m still a newbie & I have a tendency to want to “level jump” – tackling projects & techniques beyond my skill level – that and I’ve struggled with fitting issues too 🙂 I get by reminding myself one day it’ll actually all pay off ^__^

      • yeah and I’m too careful so I think you have the best approach. Just get on with new stuff and learn as you go. Besides you make such cool stuff – no newbie you!

      • symondezyn says:

        haha! awww thanks – it’s definitely a learning process! ^__^ also, nothing wrong with being careful – better results that way! 🙂

  6. amaryllislog says:

    Maybe this is turning into a really fun challenge…?!? But your self control, beyond impressive! I’m sure these darn trousers are going to work out!

  7. Anne W says:

    Whoop! Go for it! Onwards and upwards. 😀

  8. Vicki Kate says:

    Wow! What an evening and what a way to pick yourself up… I’m just too scared of trousers to even attempt them yet (although I do have the Jalie Jeans Pattern in my collection). Hopefully the Calico Stretch Pattern will work perfectly!

I love comments...

