Giveaway winners and dance costumes

I blinked and two weeks flashed by.  The green tulle sea has been tamed and our two little mermaids turned briefly into dancing dizzy daffodils.

This action picture from our lovely neighbour is a goodie as you can see both kids together.  I am incapable of taking a decent pic at the moment, however, the costumes aren’t bad, I think.  They are all in ones with built in tights and ‘tutu’ and miles of gathered tulle.  The elastic straps, tea dyed, were required to fix a design flaw …. d’ya think strapless was a good idea hmmm?

While fiddly with the gathering they were simple things to make, particularly as they came as a kit already cut out with instructions.  I haven’t sewed tulle or lycra before so I picked up a few new things doing them and quite enjoyed it too.  Yes they could have been much neater but that’s fine.  At any rate our wee daffodils had a brilliant time performing and wore themselves out happy.

Other than that very little sewing has happened.  We’ve instead been busy with dance rehersals and another round of birthday parties (theirs’ included) amidst more bouts of snots and sniffles.  I have managed to finish the edges of my trouser pieces but that’s it, and I need to decide whether to go with double or single welts front and back.  What do you think?

Finally lest I forget, I have been terribly remiss posting the winners from the fabric giveaway.  My congratulations to Felicity from Down Under for the flowery fabric and M for the stripey.  Please email me so we can get the postal people busy!

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Giveaway winners and dance costumes

  1. They look gorgeous – well done! I noticed i hadn´t been getting updates even though I am subscribed. Wil unsubscribe and subscribe again to see if that helps!

  2. amaryllislog says:

    Now these are the cutest daffodils I have ever seen, adorbs! And yay to making costumes, it’s a wonderful creative outlet and these are some of the best I have seen in a long time. This also brings back happy memories of my daughter at this age. Thanks for sharing!

    • Thank you, thank you and you’re welcome 🙂 I have to agree about the cuteness but then I’m seriously biased, strangely lol. Costumes are a new thing for me and I think there will be plenty more as the kids grow through dance/drama/school/etc. They are fun to make and my heart melts when I see them worn on stage with the cast and lighting and and.

  3. Pendle Stitches says:

    Too adorable. I did think you were slightly bonkers (in a very nice way, obviously) to be sewing costumes, but now I can see that it was worth the effort. These are fantastic. I’m doffing my cap to you and your skills.

  4. oh, how lovely, thank you, aren’t I lucky to be a winner!! (You have no idea what a terrible day you’ve just rescued with that piece of news.)

    The daffodils are beautiful and, you know, I often think that costumes don’t have to be perfect. They need to do the job they’re designed for and not a lot more.

    • Congratulations and I’m glad to have put a smile into your day. The daffys are lovely and tell me so from time to time lol. You’re very right indeed about imperfections in costumes ….. thank heavens or they would never get finished!

  5. prttynpnk says:

    Those are some adorable flowers!!!

  6. Karen says:

    So that’s what all that green tulle was being sewn into – how perfectly lovely!

I love comments...

