Seam method

I have been snipping seam allowances in accordance with instructions and hopefully the next calico will be free (enough) of butt bagginess.  I took out half and inch length which included a small chunk out of the crotch curve.  This might herald the return of the wedgie perhaps?  We’ll see.

Have you used the seam method for pattern alterations?  Do you still use it?

This entry was posted in Books, Patterns and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Seam method

  1. Jo says:

    lol, sad to say I have no idea what the seam method is! Looking forward to peeking at your book and learning more however!

  2. StephC says:

    Yep, that seems to be the way I make pants snug up against the back of my thighs… 🙂 Super.

  3. ozviking says:

    How are you finding the book ‘Fitting and Pattern Alterations’? Is it worth the money?

    • I love it so far though have yet to sew up an altered pattern – these pants will be the first. It isn’t spoon feeding either as you need to switch on the brain to interpret the instructions …. that’s good for my grey matter I have to say.

      • PendleStitches says:

        I agree. I have this book and haven’t had the time to sit and read it. It’s definitely something that you have to concentrate on but looks very thorough. This is on my list to peruse in some detail once my studies are over, so I’m very keen to see how this progresses for you.

      • Oh good then I’m not just being dense! I did wonder but am used to that ol’ spoon feeding when it comes to new (to me) techniques. Now if I can just get my now limited supply of calico to ‘stretch’ to one more trial garment….

I love comments...

