Sewing Actually

On his travels, JJ found a couple of books for me.  Both I have been oogling from a distance for ages.  How did he know?

Drape drape and Pattern Magic slipped into my sewing room with amazing ease.

Professional Sewing Techniques for Designers has been my bedtime reading for a few weeks now and I’ve finally started using it and my calico scraps to practice welt pockets.  They are not pretty.  Yet.

This entry was posted in Books, Sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Sewing Actually

  1. sew2pro says:

    If you, or your readers, wish to brave attempting some Pattern Magic, you might like to know I’ve started a PM group challenge, with lots of handholding hopefully. The deadline is not till November, so come on over and share tips and tears…!

    • Oh wow I very much wish to attempt some Pattern Magic but will watch and learn until my sewing list gets more, um, manageable. What a fantastic idea to start such a challenge – I have already scooted over to check it out! Have you seen what Pella at patternpandemonium.wordpress.com has done with PM. Very cool and interesting.

  2. Nice Nice Nice! Can’t wait to see what you make first!

  3. PendleStitches says:

    I have a hubby who is that cool too. I have the Professional Sewing Techniques book and it’s just amazing.

  4. Andi says:

    How do I train my husband to pick up pattern books on a whim? Is there a clicker involved or treats or….?

    • Ha ha… Isn’t he lovely? It wasn’t quite on a whim though as I primed him for a couple of weeks before he left. Then when in London at the Tate Modern and visiting its wonderful shop he grabbed me a couple of books, as requested. I’d been looking at both of these books on various blogs and we’d both loved the design concept plus many of the shapes. Gotta love him for remembering me when surrounded by all that loveliness.

  5. Kalina says:

    I wish my hubby would do that for me 🙂 Pattern Magic is also one I’ve been thinking of buying but I wasn’t sure if I’m advanced enough to be able to use it… What do you think, is it a book for very advanced sewists?

    • I am absolutely going to find it beyond me but that’s OK. I will learn or else, eh? One lovely experienced lady commented that if you don’t try things that are beyond your skill level you don’t learn. Consider it a challenge and give hubs a list 🙂 I haven’t really looked through it yet other than very quickly but I think you should go for it. You’ve sewn more than me anyway.

  6. Jo says:

    Lucky you! What a great husband! Hope you have fun with the new books 🙂 They have some intriguing designs.

  7. Pella says:

    I have Pattern Magic and Drape Drape. Definitely worth the money!

    • Either of them yet? Actually there are several more too, which I am also oogling but my list is getting ever longer along with the stash so I need to focus. How does one focus these days I wonder?

  8. Javie says:

    I just picked up Drape Drape too this week! I also have the Professional Sewing Techniques for Designers. It’s a bit pricey but a great reference for clothing construction.

  9. Lucky you! I love new books. What do you think of them?

    • Oh me too! I love the one I’m using for the welts because its written in a way that works for me. I love the other two as well, though haven’t had a chance to do more than flick through them and “Oo” and “Ah”. I’ve seen so much in blogland about them both that I’m still pretty damned excited just seeing them in the flesh, as it were.

I love comments...

