Butterflies and thread tracing, if you will

These were taken today after much cajoling as we completely forgot to take pics on the day.  The girls would NOT face the camera so I’m afraid you’re going to have to imagine the front of the dress, and the bodice mostly too – AB wouldn’t even let me put her hair up.  Still you get the idea.  I didn’t have enough fabric to pattern match the lovely butterflies on the back unfortunately but she didn’t mind and wore the dress (and favourite party shoes) all day today and to the wedding a couple of weeks ago.

On to sewing for me, I have been doing some reading about trouser alterations, and started on the actual sewing too, wonderfully.  In my online travels, rather by chance I stumbled across something called thread tracing and it is really really useful.  Already.  I’ve only used it once.  In fact, tomorrow I plan to make trouser muslin #2 and will be machine thread tracing my little heart out.

Do you use thread tracing for muslins or beyond?  Does it work for you?  Why?

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Butterflies and thread tracing, if you will

  1. Such cute and charming dresses!

  2. Oh this is so pretty! It’s the cutest dress ever 🙂 Reminds me of how my mum used to get us flowery dresses as little girls… your girls must be so lucky to have you sew things like that for them 🙂

  3. I have never used thread tracing for a muslin, but then I don’t make tailored clothes either and it seems rather silly to do something so labor-intensive for everyday wear….no?

    The dresses are lovely! I have neglected to pattern match in back before, but I always figure anyone who is looking that closely at my backside has other things in mind.

    • I have thread traced my second trou muslin and really like that it has made crotch alterations easy to measure – distance from pin/fold to seam line. I think it would be extra work for simpler things and I’ll use it on the areas I know will need fiddling with to fit. I am so far from tailoring anything…

  4. Jane's sew & tell says:

    Pretty dresses!

  5. peasepudding says:

    Pretty colours, I used to sew quite a bit but my poor machine rathers only dust these days

  6. What cute dresses!
    I recently made my first thread traced muslin and it made all the difference in the world for fitting. I think its especially helpful for patterns that will be used repeatedly.

    • Thank you! I thought of you when I was doing my little bit of thread tracing, wondering if you had used the technique during the Susan Khalje classes. Had you heard of/used it before the class?

I love comments...

