Sewing stuff and new old things

Sewing has been rather slow of late but I have been busy in the sewing room none the less.  We have finally moved the spare bed out and I am in the middle of re-organising boxes and bags of fabric, notions, patterns etc etc into some old drawers.

There is stuff all over most of the floor, which the cat loves, and I am wondering just where to put this …I found it on the doorstep several days ago and haven’t yet had a chance to finish adjusting it.  I make a funny little squealy noise whenever I catch sight of it.  Can’t think why ….

And look what I found this morning …

The scanner is buggered so you’ll have to make do with these crappy photos.  The book is dated sometime in the 60s I think though its not dated.  One of the shift dresses is on my to do list for the kids – I will have to get the pink fabric out again for that I expect.

Righto, this afternoon I am off to find a table for the sewing room.  Yay.

This entry was posted in Books, not sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Sewing stuff and new old things

  1. Javie says:

    Ooh the sewing room will look great after it is all set up! The dressform will look perfect in corner. I am trying to set up my back sunroom as a sewing room but right now it looks like a big storage closet/dump.

  2. Your mannequin! Have you done anything on it yet? Drape a sheet, drape a sheet-that’s what I did when mine showed up! It’s awesome and you can pretend you’re Vionnet 😄

  3. Jo says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog! I was so excited when you mentioned you were from Wellington! I don’t know any fellow sewers in Wellington! I’m sure they’re out there… just gotta find em!
    Your blog is really nice 🙂

  4. Andi says:

    Ooh, the dress form is here! I’ll be curious to see how you get on with that.

    The Girl’s Gear looks very sixties — pretty sure it would have been out of date in my era, but children’s clothing hasn’t changed since the 1930s. What HAS changed is the idea that 12-year-olds would wear the same clothes as their younger peers!

    My cats also think I pull out sewing items for them to sleep on. What’s that all about, cats?

    • My five year olds don’t wanna wear the same stuff as the littlies (ie anyone younger than they are). Cute? I guess. Maybe. Anyway, I like the dress variation and there is interesting info/ideas on flat pattern modifications, which I’ll read and then re-read before my brain soaks any of it up. However, am going to do Me sewing first. I am I am I am.

  5. She´s arrived – what´s her name?!

    • “That scary big doll thing” according to my kids, but I think I’ll change it! I don’t know yet what I’ll call her – I will ponder it as I finish making her more me shaped.

  6. I just put a table in the sewing room and it’s made a huge difference! Good luck 🙂

  7. wordpressreport says:

    Reblogged this on WordPress Report.

I love comments...

