Ooo look what I found

I have been checking ‘my’ op shops regularly and haven’t found a single sewing book.  Have I found needlework texts?  Yes.  Home crafts?  Yes.  Embroidery?  Yep.  Sewing?  A resounding no.  So, instead I have drooled over the thrifty finds of other bloggers wistfully wondering why there was such a scarcity near me.

Oh but imagine my delight at finding this just a few hours ago for the princely sum of $3.

It is the 1977 Reader’s Digest Complete Guide to Sewing in very good condition (not a rip or tear anywhere) and was along side a sewing machine (Janome I think), some bits and pieces related to the machine which I didn’t have time to look at properly, a whole bunch of fabric (and yes, I couldn’t help myself) and a weeny teeny zig-zag machine.  I will be going back to check out the machines in the next day or two – t’will be interesting.

The person who owned this book took good care of it though did use it – it was lovingly wrapped in plastic – and I am going to start reading it this evening.  With hot chocolate and a blanket.  Lovely.

Do you know of this book?  Do you have this book, or one of its later iterations?

This entry was posted in Books, not sewing, Sewing Machines and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Ooo look what I found

  1. ooobop! says:

    Great find! I have the 2002 edition. It frequently comes in handy when I am stuck on a technique. I have a bit of an issue with the size of the type but I think I need glasses in any case!! 🙂

    • Hiya! I love it too and should really keep it and another couple open on my sewing table I use them that often. Glasses? You? Yeah, well me too but there’s some avoidance going on that front until I can’t thread a needle without enlisting help lol.

  2. Rachel says:

    My mum had this book! Seeing the photo made me all misty eyed from reminiscing many hours spent pouring over it. Perhaps your girls will do the same!

  3. bernieandi says:

    Excellent find! I have the exact same one I think it’s the best sewing book I own!

  4. Lene says:

    Yes, I have that book too – a 1978 edition. I have found it very useful over the years and I still refer to it from time to time. It is full of great information and even though the diagrams now look quite dated the techniques are still very valid.

  5. I used to have the 1980s Vogue Sewing and never found it very useful. Supposedly the 1970s versions of sewing books are much better. I would consider this a very good find, especially at thrift store prices!

    I have a newer Singer sewing book that I’ve been very impressed by because it has photographs rather than illustrations. Literally, every step is photographed which is a big help to me since I learn by doing (and screwing up) things.

  6. SewingElle says:

    Lucky find! I have a later edition of this book and it is great. Enjoy!

  7. Tanit-Isis says:

    Awesome find! Actually, buying this book (yes, from a thrift store) was the first step on my journey to sewing-blogging, about two and a half years ago—a friend had a copy and it looked good, so I decided if I ran across one I would pick it up and maybe actually learn to sew “properly”.

    It appears to have worked…

    I actually picked up the companion volume “Complete Guide to Needlework” just yesterday at my local thrift store…

    • I even love the section on fabrics which is where I’m up to in my read-through. Wish there were swatches too but I guess I will work with what I have! Funnily enough there was a non-readers digest complete needlework stitchery book alongside this one too. Do you use your needlework book? Not sure if I remember embroidery on your blog ….

      • Tanit-Isis says:

        Well, I only bought the needlework one two days ago… and then promptly got sick, so I haven’t used it yet. Probably won’t for awhile as I’m trying to avoid needlework, frankly. But at the same time I want to have the resource on hand when I finally cave. 🙂

      • Hope you’re feeling better soon, though perhaps its a rather extreme way of avoiding ‘hand sewing’?? :o)

  8. Claire says:

    That looks like a great book. I bet you’ll find some good tips and techniques in it. It’s good to have a book with the basics in it to refer to. You do very well with your scavenging at the used-goods shops!

  9. Sully Liz says:

    I have that book! Well, the ’68 edition I think. I found it in a used book store that is like a crazy cave of treasure, right at the time I started sewing last year. It’s proved very useful in understanding some new/weird techniques I wasn’t picking up from just the pattern instructions. Every sewist should have one, congrats! 😀

  10. Lakaribane says:

    I think I want one just because I was born in 1977!

  11. Lucky you – I´ve heard this is a great book!

  12. I don’t know this book but we have a couple of Reader’s Digest DIY books from the same period. They are very handy and informative.

  13. Anne W says:

    I have an old copy, it might be slightly newer than that, but certainly not new! it’s pretty good for learning from because of the clear photos. I used to lug it into my beginner’s sewing classes, and most of the students ended up buying their own copy. Another good one is the Dorling Kindersly “Sewing” book, excellent pictures. My bible for years was my Mum’s old copy of Vogue sewing though, but it’s far more wordy and had drawings, not photos.
    Have fun browsing through your new (and first of many sewing books) purchase!

    • Hey Anne and I have the DK Complete Book of Sewing too and I love it, pulling it out for most sewing I do, even if just to check techniques. I do wonder about “complete” though because really, could there ever be such a thing?

  14. aaaah that is awesome! I remember my mum having that book. The illustrations are really cool. Oh wow! Great find.

I love comments...

