More creases and wrinkles

Here’s the bodice so far, with some alterations/hacks started.

It is an improvement on the first version.  Progress hey?  Here’s what I did:

  1. Removed 5/8″ seam allowances from the neckline and armscye.  The neck still looks a little high so needs a bit more off.
  2. Dropped the waist by 1″ (a complete hack) by adding that little strip right around.  I  wanted to loosen the fit at the hips because this was making the whole thing slide up and it seemed the simplest way.  Very inelegant and it makes the garment sit rather oddly but it did serve its purpose.
  3. I let the side seams out 0.5″ from a little above the waist down to the hem.  Its better but still snug across my tummy so I need to muddle about with the darts.

Tomorrow I’ll get the pattern updated then hopefully start working on the rest.  That is let the tummy darts out and get on with the sway back and small bust alterations.  I do need to check the shoulders, neckline and back.

Man but I am enjoying this.  Not really sure what I’m doing but fun it is.

This entry was posted in Patterns, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to More creases and wrinkles

  1. Sarah says:

    You seem to be having a lot more luck with fitting than I always seem to. I eventually just decide I can live with wrinkles and let it be 😀

  2. I know I don’t always comment, but it’s so lovely seeing what you’re up to 🙂 I can’t wait until I one day buy my own sewing machine and let my dreams run wild… keep up the great work! 😀

  3. Lena Merrin says:

    I think you can safely reduce dart widths in front. Also those diagonal folds appear because of the excess chest width. How are the armscyes?

    • Oo dunno about the armsyces. Will put it on and check again. I’m thinking that until I get the waist fit right there’s still a bit of sliding up going on so that will be adding to the excess fabric in the chest and back too. Its on the list now – thanks Lena.

  4. I love making muslins! The unimportance of seam finishing or fussy details is so…..soothing.

    The shoulder fit looks good to me, and the area around the hips isn’t half bad. I think we have almost the same body — my shoulders might be a bit broader, but I need an extra inch or two in the torso also. And I’ve never done a swayback adjustment or a SBA, so I’ll be watching this closely!

    • Oh lordy don’t watch too closely I might get nervous. On the SBA and sway back side I have a book, millions of brill blogs and a bunch of excellent and slightly different online tutes to read through, compare and navel gaze so heaven help me!!

      You’re right about seam finishing on muslins and the calico I’m using frays like an absolute bastard so perhaps I should be more careful. I certainly need the practice anyways.

      I do like your blog for many reasons, and one of those is that you seem similarly shaped to me ….. very useful you are you see?

  5. You are definitely making progress!! Can’t wait to see it completed 🙂

  6. You are definitely making progress! Can’t wait to see it completed 🙂

  7. Lookig good, looking good!

I love comments...

