Autumnal sewing, amongst other things

Summer is on the wane and with autumn brings autumnal sewing, oddly enough, which in turn necessitates fabric buying trips to stock up on merino and other things.  Oh How Awful.On the merino front I’ve cut out three long sleeve Ts for the kids (bottom right) with more planned.  The blue and white stripe is destined to be turned into sleep wear for my little nephew and the white will be snugglies of some sort for me.  The rest are silks and cottons for later.

Note to self – I need to find something less bulky to stabilise shoulder seams on merino.  Bias tape is too bulky and there must be something less white/black than interfacing.  What do you use?

On the bodice front, I have yet to find a long enough zip, though have been a somewhat distracted to look properly.  Plus it has been bumped down the queue by colder weather needs.

Oh and one last thing.  The washers in the pic are cast iron so wonderfully heavy and perfect as pattern weights.  At $5 a pop they were cheap enough too and all I need to do is stick something soft on the bottom to protect the pattern tissue.  So long to the tins of tuna, anchovies, beans and tomato paste.  Get back to the pantry where you belong.

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Autumnal sewing, amongst other things

  1. SewingElle says:

    Somewhere on the sew blogs I’ve seen washers covered with decorative ribbons or bias tape. Wrapped around and around.They look great and would result in a softer surface ony our patterns.
    Silk organza. Iid like more of it in my life too.

  2. My first thought for stabilizing was clear elastic, but it can be scratchy. I like the selvedge suggestion, and I’ve heard of strips of organza used as well but I’m not sure if that would be too lightweight for your fabric.

    I also use washers, although mine were cheaper but they are not cast iron. I don’t have any problems with them ripping the pattern tissue — they’re pretty smooth. I have four different sizes, since I find the little round ones are nice for keeping corners down. I suppose I could cover them with something decorative but I always forget about it when I’m busy sewing….

    • I didn’t think of using smaller washers for pattern corners and smaller bits. Good idea – they had loads of different sizes to choose from so I’ll head back tomorrow. Thanks.

      I’ve got some organza which I use for a press cloth and I’ve been meaning to hem the edges so will use the selvedges and see how it stands up. The kids are pretty tough on their clothes so it’ll be a good test.

  3. I wondered what those washers were for as soon as I saw the photo – great idea!

  4. Lena Merrin says:

    One of the cheapest options for shoulder stabilizing is selvage from the same fabric trimmed to 1 cm. It works really well

  5. I’m assuming you’re talking about knit merino fabric. In which case, you might try using the selvedge of the fabric for stabilizing shoulder seams. If this is still too bulky you could try the selvedge of a lighter fabric (I save the selvedges of silk organza for this) or clear elastic tape.

    • Hi Lizz – thanks for the tip and yes it is knit merino. I had completely forgotten about selvedges, of which I have yards and yards. Wish there was more silk organza in my life but that will come, I’m sure.

I love comments...

