Bad sewing and fab fabric

I’m human and cannot cannot resist the wonderful temptation that a good fabric sale brings.  So, when The Curious Kiwi noted that a Wellington store was selling yardage for a song I went the very next day and bought a couple of silks, a linen and two gorgeous cotton voiles paying no more than $5/metre.

That’s two meters each of these pretty silks – a lovely white slinky softy and the patterned chiffon.  Both are in my ‘sew something in the future’ pile and I envisage blouses of some description.

The brown is two metres of a soft medium weight linen destined to be trousers – the pattern will make itself known to me I’m sure.  And the voiles, aren’t they lovely, have a skirt and a blouse in their futures I think, not to be worn together perhaps, though who knows.

Aside from strolling backwards and forwards with bolts of fabric I have been practicing my tailors tacks and I need to do them differently.  Oh and use chalk and clip marks and rulers.  Especially rulers.  Actually I need to do all the darts again.  You see, I first traced out the lines with a tracing wheel and carbon paper, which I had to reposition twice to get the full length of each front dart.  Then I did the tailors tacks because I knew the traced lines would be screwy, and guess what?  They were – see.

The traced lines are blue chalk and the seam thread red

Tomorrow will be re-do day.  I hate it when I’m really cack handed.

Add to this my center back zip, puckery little thing.

Oh. T’was a good day.

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bad sewing and fab fabric

  1. Ah, not bad sewing but PRACTICE sewing — an entirely different animal, and much more fun. Think of it all as an experiment in which methods work best for you.

    The fabric is lovely — I’m particularly fond of that patterned chiffon, gorgeous! Although I’d see it as a sundress rather than a blouse, but that’s because I just don’t wear a lot of blouses.

  2. Anne W says:

    Aah, darts.. I usually tell my students to tack the intersection of the dart leg and seam line, and the dart point, then fold and pin, then, to make sure the sewn lines are “straight” use chalk to “join the dots”, and sew on that line. It usually works… If you have a sturdy fabric, like a cotton, once the dart is folded and pinned, lightly press the folded edge, then that sucker won’t go walkies.

    • Great – thanks Anne, this is my job for today and I’ll do it this way with a ruler when I join the dots. I’m definitely going to use the iron too. Damned darts! Its the simplest things hey?

I love comments...

