Hmmm I think I’m going to like this one ….

BS 00014 muslin

BurdaStyle Special Autumn/Winter 2012 #14 muslin

I haven’t found another make of this online, interestingly.  Not sure why at this stage though time will tell I suppose.

I cut a straight 38 and there are a few things that need fixing.  It’s too big particularly across the boobage and a couple of inches too short to the waist.  Really, there’s so much volume that on a windy day I’d be a gonner.  The shoulders seem to fit nicely, however.

So, when I do the next one I’ll :

* cut a size 36 graduating to 38 at the shoulders

* take out some of the ease from the sleeve heads

* drop the waist by 2″ – the red line on my tummy is the waistline mark.

I expect that when I do all that there will still be extra volume in the bust so I’ll have to dick around with the darts a bit.  All good.

I didn’t bother interfacing the collar and very roughly hand stitched it and the top of the front facing down.  They should sit much better when done ‘properly’.

Now on sleeve cap ease, this pattern seems to have rather a lot.  I do recall the Fashion Incubator waxing lyrical about this so I will re-read that and work through removing the need to gather the extra acreage.  Do you find you need to fudge or remove excessive ease often?

Edited to add some useful links re removing (excessive) sleeve cap ease.

Oh and I found some interesting things op (aka thrift) shopping during the week.

P1040415

Brushed cotton fairies for kid winter PJs, wool blend (I think) and a very interesting book.

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Hmmm I think I’m going to like this one ….

  1. CherryPix says:

    Oh yes…this blouse has great ‘bones’…the tweaks you mention will make it all the sharper. I like it in white – a crisp white blouse with great details is always in style ;-)

  2. symondezyn says:

    This is going to be so smart when it’s done – I do hope your final will be in this nice crisp white as well? Somehow I can’t see it any other way ^_^

    • Hiya – you know I have just the thing. A lovely very crisp white white cotton lawn in the stash. Actually, that reminds me I need to get on with pre-washing. Tomorrow.

      I think you’re right about crispness for this shirt. It does need a certain amount I agree, though I’d like to see it in a print too. Not sure. Anywho, white it will be for me.

  3. Andrea says:

    Looks like it will be a great shirt with your edits. Ease – some pattern lines have way too much! I’m not a fan of excess in sleeve caps.

  4. kaitui_kiwi says:

    Haha, I am glad I am not the only one who says “boobage” ;)

    I hate all that excess sleeve cap ease, Burda are the worst for it. I tend to sort of cheat to overcome it because I usually forget to check until AFTER I’ve cut into my fabric, doh!

    Your blouse looks great xx I’m keen to see round two with those changes.

    • Thanks Ms Kiwi. “Boobage”. Its a jolly good term universally understood. I probably got it from you too ya’know :)

      Glad to know the excess sleeve cap wasn’t just my utter rubbish cutting out skills and actually BS doing their thing. Hopefully I’ll remember to remove it from the pattern before I cut into that bedsheet again.

  5. CGCouture says:

    Oooh! I think I’m going to like that blouse too! I have no idea what the Burda Style Special is though…

    And oh man that is a cute skirt!! Did you make that or buy it?

  6. Javie says:

    This shirt does have potential- I like the design. I can’t wait to see it with all your changes.

  7. Oh yes you can see the potential in this! Bring on version 2!

  8. When I first saw the pattern I was really looking forward to seeing it on you. Now I’m really looking forward to seeing the final piece. I can’t believe you’re going back to full(?) time work – I hope this won’t slow your posts down… Sewing has been that ‘hobby’ I’ve always enjoyed, but it never took off with me – so I enjoy seeing what you do for inspiration! :)

    • Oh Fati thank you for your lovely comment. I can’t wait to make this up (albiet smaller) too, though of course there will be another muslin first because there are a few new things to be tried first. Yes full time work is beckoning and I hope it won’t slow down my sewing or my posting. I do wonder if I’ll find evening sewing much more sustainable because sewing time will become even more precious!

      PS I’m the same with cooking. I enjoy seeing what things you are making and posting about in that space :-)

  9. Sewbussted says:

    The blouse does have good bones and is a great staple for any wardrobe, but what I love is that little fairy princess fabric. What a great find.

  10. Karen says:

    I love the three quarter sleeves – very mid-century looking, with definite appeal to me, for one! I also like the spread of the collar, which is very flattering. It’s going to sew up beautifully with your fitting adjustments.

  11. This is a great pattern….it’s going to look amazing with your tweaks. Thanks, too, for the link.

  12. amaryllislog says:

    Oooooh this is very nice! I’m very impressed! I too look forward to version 2.0,

  13. Gjeometry says:

    Oh, very nice wrap top! Just found your blog though a post you left on another blog I follow and looking forward to following you and seeing what else you post. I’m always excited to follow new (to me) sewing blogs. And, that PatternGrams, how to copy and design patterns at home, book looks like an AWESOME find!!! I have never heard of it, but the title itself speaks volumes. Let us know how you like it. :)

  14. Andrea says:

    Emily,
    How are you coming along with the top? I love your “useful things” list on the side.
    I was looking for your email, to email you about the Burda top. My email is satinbirddesigns (at) gmail (dot) com, if you have a chance to send me an email about it. Thank you!

    • Hey Andrea – the top is coming along great, thanks you. Its a learning curve as I’ve decided to do more than just take it in and fiddle wit darts. Anyway I’ve emailed you some deets.

      Thanks for the note about my eamil address being hidden … I shall fix that! its on my About page….

I love comments...

