Oh so that’s what happened

While copying the crotch curve over to the new trouser pattern I figured out why the other trousers were too big.

P1040016

This picture shows the final front pattern piece from the BS trousers.  Can you see the confusion of lines at CB and below the fly?  Perhaps you can also make out two different seam allowances marked (1/2″ at waistband and 1″ on the crotch curve).

I actually had three different seam allowances on this pattern – 1/2″, 5/8″ and 1″ which I did not mark carefully or precisely.  It is hardly a surprise then that the side and CB seams were sewed with a 1/4″ narrower seam than I had allowed on the pattern.

I am an idiot.  Thank you very much.

On a lighter note, ages ago the lovely Tia Dia passed me a ‘smile’ and thoroughly improved my day.  Thank you my dear.  The award was for doing something really very hard – reading blogs and leaving comments.  How awful!

Premio

Essentially it is a thank you to all the folk who read and comment on blogs and keep the on-line sewing community alive.

Now I don’t need to tell you any stories or list interesting facts about myself, rather I just list the last nine bloggers who left me comments.  So here they are:

Vicki Kate

amaryllislog

Liza Jane

Mrs C

Amy

Lena

Jo

SewingElle

TJ

Lovely, interesting, inspiring people one and all.

 

 

This entry was posted in not sewing, Patterns, Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Oh so that’s what happened

  1. SewingElle says:

    Thanks for the smile. Glad I’m not the only one who confuses herself with different seam allowances..

  2. CherryPix says:

    A timely warming re careful SA notes/markings! Thanks!

  3. Pendle Stitches says:

    I have visions of you slapping yourself on the forehead! Onwards to the perfect trews!

  4. Awww thank you for a smile :) I have just finished an epic battle with the most evil silk and now I am recovering, so smile helps a lot! :)

  5. Anne W says:

    There are many occasions when I honestly call myself a complete and utter idiot for doing something really dumb. At least you found the problem, now the next pair will be perfect! :D

  6. Javie says:

    It’s great to hear that you figured out what happened. The next pair will now be awesome!

  7. amaryllislog says:

    So sweet of you, many thanks! And may I be the idiot that sits next to you?!

  8. MrsC says:

    I’m late to the party as always :) Thank you! And what a phew about the trew! I detest it when patterns have different seam allowances, and once I even cut out a whole pair of men’s trousers from a Burda pattern that had NO seam allowances, not realising this. Little wonder they cam out tiny! Thank goodness Burda now put the SA on their patterns. Too befuddling by half!

  9. Thank you! – I keep meaning to go over these and do a post but I only remember late at night just as I’m about to nod off =S.

    • Pleasure – I used to keep a pad and pen beside the bed to catch these thoughts but would drop off to sleep before gathering the energy to write it down.

      • Same, I have a little diary-I’ve written in it exactly thrice and none of the writing is legible the next day XD Not just illegible but the words I understand make no sense either..

      • Well that proves it! There’s no point trying to catch sheer brilliance prior to or while sleeping. Dreams of course are a completely different thing – try writing them down as soon as you wake up.

I love comments...

